"End of Day" - 12"x12" oil on panel - Showing stages of the "work in progress" and my art studio

in #art6 years ago

This painting was sold to a local medical doctor and is now hanging in his clinic. It was painted on an Ampersand Gessobord, which is an archival panel made for artist. It was painted with both brushes and palette knives. I've taken many photos of ships and tug boats in the Houston Ship Channel, which is not far from my house, which I use for painting reference. The sky and water was completely from my mind. Photos of the stages of progress and the finished painting on the easel in my art studio are below.

End of Day 12x12p-cr.jpg

First stage: I toned the panel with a thin raw umber and thalo blue wash and then blocked in the important shapes.

End of Day WIP 1.JPG

Next stage: Defining the colors and shapes a bit more to get an idea of where the painting was going.

End of Day WIP 2.JPG

Next Stage:

End of Day WiP 3.JPG

Next Stage:

End of Day WIP 4.JPG

Next Stage:

End of Day WIP 5.JPG

Next Stage:

End of Day WIP 6.JPG

Next Stage: I usually sign a painting with a brush if the painting is dry, but sometimes I sign them with a rubber shaper or any sharp object while the paint is wet. This time I signed it with a rubber shaper while the paint was wet. I went ahead and signed it before the painting was finished as I pretty well knew the lower right corner was finished.

End of Day WIP 7.JPG

Next Stage:

End of Day WIP 8.JPG

Next Stage:

End of Day WIP 9.JPG

Next Stage:

End of Day WIP 10.JPG

Next Stage:

End of Day WIP 11.JPG

My art studio with "End of Day" on my easel.

End of Day studio 1-cr.jpg
Thanks for reading. -Bob

My Website

Sort:  

Extraordinary work sir but i would love to see your recent work of city reflection process. It can bring you a lot of followers and upvotes at that is a fresh content. I am a fan of your painting. Following you :)

Thank you so much @rifkan. Thanks for the info and I'll try to do more "work in progress" photos in the future.

Wow, esta muy bueno, yo siempre he querido aprender a pintar al oleo

Thank you so much @ferdoart. I really like oil paints as they are so forgiving and I can correct mistakes even after the paint dries. I hope you can try them soon.

If it's the magic of oil, I hope to draw one very soon

What a find! I decided to check #steemartists and found your work. Love it! I can't wait to see more, especially the step by step part.

Thank you so much @milenamilak! I will definitely post more of my work showing the stages of progress of my paintings. By the way, I toured Spain in 1990 and loved it!

Beautiful art. Thank you for sharing this. I like your studio. Someday, I want to try oil painting. This is my dream.

Thank you so much @koto-art! You should definitely try oil painting. I think you will like it.

Congratulations @bobbradshaw, this post is the tenth most rewarded post (based on pending payouts) in the last 12 hours written by a User account holder (accounts that hold between 0.1 and 1.0 Mega Vests). The total number of posts by User account holders during this period was 2888 and the total pending payments to posts in this category was $10221.23. To see the full list of highest paid posts across all accounts categories, click here.

If you do not wish to receive these messages in future, please reply stop to this comment.

WOW! I'm honored! Thank you so much. I'm a newbie to Steemit and I have a lot to learn about all these wonderful awards. Thanks again!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60625.76
ETH 2898.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.62