"Fifth Avenue" - 24"x24" oil on canvas - Showing stages of the "work in progress" and my art studio.

in #art6 years ago

This is a painting I did in 2016. It was done with brushes, palette knives and color shapers. I painted it on gallery wrap canvas and painted the sides black so it could be hung without a frame, which I think looks the best with this sort of painting. This one is similar to my last posting, as it's a bit more abstract than some of my other styles. Photos of the stages of progress and the finished painting on the easel in my art studio are below.

Fifth Avenue 24x24c-cr.jpg

First stage of the painting: I drew perspective lines and established a vanishing point and also blocked-in some background colors. Many times I lose the perspective lines, especially when I paint thick with a palette knife, but since the painting is a loose style I don't have to be 100% accurate like I would in an ultra realism style painting.

Fifth Avenue WIP 1.JPG

Next stage: More blocking-in of colors trying to establish a better idea of where the painting is going.

Fifth Avenue WIP 3.JPG

Next stage:

Fifth Avenue WIP 4.JPG

Next stage:

Fifth Avenue WIP 6.JPG

Next stage:

Fifth Avenue WIP 9.JPG

"Fifth Avenue" - finished painting on the easel in my art studio.

Fifth Avenue studio 2.JPG
Thanks for reading. -Bob

My Website
My Instagram

Sort:  

I paint ultra realism but I strive for the looseness you gave. I love this one.

*have

Thank you so much dbennett. I use to paint ultra realism and it was very hard to change. One method I use is to put alway all my tiny brushes and only paint with large ones. Good luck.

Great tip! I’ve been using filberts but will avoid the small ones. Thanks!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 66367.17
ETH 3007.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71