"Spring Cactus" - 11"x14" oil on panel - Painted from my mindsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #art6 years ago

This painting was a real challenge as I didn't use a photo reference. I wanted to use my "artist license" and paint bright colors with my own design that I didn't find in any photos. The original painting was 16"x16", but after looking at it for weeks, I decided to crop it down to 11"x14" to improve the design. I actually sawed all 4 sides of the Ampersand Gessobord and made it a much better painting. Had I painted this on a stretched canvas it would have been much harder to re-size.

Spring Cactus 11x14p-cr.jpg

This is my art studio with "Spring Cactus" on the easel.

Spring Cactus studio 1-cr.jpg
Thanks for reading. -Bob

My Website

Sort:  

oils are my favorite medium to work with...aside from photography...but as far as hands on mediums go...but I play around with everything. Do you ever work with other mediums?

No, I never work with other mediums. I love oils so much that I would have no reason to try others. However, I do like photography.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 66439.14
ETH 3005.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.68