"Vine Ripened" - 12"x12" oil on panel - I eat lots of tomatoes on my Paleo diet!steemCreated with Sketch.

in #art6 years ago

I purchased these tomatoes from a local grocery store and took some photos with different lighting and at different angles to later be used as reference for paintings. Yes, I know it would have been better to paint from real life than a photo, but the way my studio is set up now it would be too inconvenient. The tomatoes were delicious by the way. I've been on a Paleo diet for 5 years and tomatoes fit into my diet very well. This painting was painted on an Ampersand Gessobord which is an archival board for artist. I painted this painting with both brushes and palette knives.

Vine Ripened 12x12p-cr.jpg

Below is the photo I used for reference and as you can see I didn't paint it exactly as I saw it. I never do this. I always alter the subject to make it more appealing to the viewer....well, that's the plan anyway.

Tomatoes 5-12x12.jpg

The first stage of the painting.

Vine Ripened WIP 1.JPG

The next stage.

Vine Ripened WIP 2.JPG

The next stage.

Vine Ripened WIP 4.JPG

The next stage.

Vine Ripened WIP 5.JPG

The finished painting.

Vine Ripened 12x12p-cr.jpg
Thanks for reading. - Bob

My Website

Sort:  

The colours basically just leapt out of the screen / canvas! So alive! So beautiful <3....... And you made me want to learn oils... haha

upvotes and resteems

Thank you so much. Oils is the only medium I've ever worked with and I love them even though it does take time to set them up on a palette each day. At the end of the painting session I put each color in a Tupperware type container and put it in the freezer. They won't dry out for about a week or two if left in the freezer. Thanks again for your comments...I'm new to Steemit, but I'm beginning to like it more than the other social medias.

Dear Artist @bobbradshaw ! This post has been resteemed and upvoted from FineArtNow account ! See you soon !

Thank you so much! I'm new to Steemit and I'm still trying to find my way around on this new exciting social media site.

Very beautiful painted tomatoes. I love how you show the depth with the brushstrokes

Thank you so much marinaart. I really enjoyed painting this one.

Great intensity.

Thanks David, I'm trying to improve my skills to become the quality painter you are! But, with my 78 year old shaky hands it's kinda hard. Your work really inspires me for sure!

Love your rendition of colour

Thank you so much Ben, I like to experiment with different colors and techniques. That's what makes painting fun.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 65229.52
ETH 2946.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67