Process: Telekinetic Yeti

in #art6 years ago (edited)

Hey everyone! I'm stoked to join the community to share my art and creative process. My first post is a t-shirt graphic I recently completed for the band Telekinetic Yeti.
ty_psyche_van_sketch_02.jpg
Step 01: Rough Sketch
For this project I created the initial sketch in Photoshop. It's low res so I don't get too hung up on details. At this point I'm really trying to get quickly get an idea down and sell the band on my vision. In this case I wanted to feature a Yeti character. The band wanted something with a 1970's custom van. A Rat Fink inspired concept seemed like a good fit!

ty_yeti_fink_drawing.jpg
Step 02: Tight Drawing
Once approved, I print out the rough sketch and then throw it on the light box to make a tighter drawing. I like to use Prismacolor "True Blue" pencils for my initial layout and then move to "Crimson Red" to indicate final lines. Once again I send it back to the band for approval before I begin inks.

ty_yeti_fink_inks.jpg
Step 03: Inks
The band wanted me to reduce some of the brow and tongue details. I personally like extra gross out details, but in the interest of time I decided to not argue and make the changes. This piece was inked on 9"x12" Strathmore Bristol Board with a smooth plate finish. I used Faber-Castell PITT artist pens for the line work, mostly the brush pen.

tk_yeti_fink_color_GREY_TSHIRT.jpg
Step 04: Color
The inked art is scanned into the computer and placed into Adobe Illustrator for coloring. I get input from the band on how many colors they will print with, what color shirt the design will be on and what kind of color palette they're looking for. After a few back in forths, it's all dialed in and ready for print.

Thanks for checking out my first post!

Sort:  

@brian.romero, I gave you an upvote on your first post! Please give me a follow and I will give you a follow in return!

Please also take a moment to read this post regarding bad behavior on Steemit.

Dear friend, you do not appear to be following @artzone. Follow @artzone and get added to our voting list for valuable up-votes!

Congratulations @brian.romero! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published your First Post
You made your First Vote
You made your First Comment
You got a First Vote
Award for the number of upvotes

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Amazing quality, I can see it on a t-shirt perfectly. Keep up with that talent!

Thank you! More to come...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 65999.51
ETH 3019.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71