Art/Craft Project - .300 Magnum Casings

in #art5 years ago

Hi All,

The other day I decided to try to clean up a couple Weatherby .300 Magnum casings to do something crafty or artsy with them. I was planning to shine them up and make a necklace our something like that out of them. I also had thought of cutting the bottom off and turning it into a sort of magnet for the refrigerator.

235513F4-CA3F-41C6-A09E-1B490D0A3808.jpeg

I didn’t have a lot of time or a real plan, so I just thought of a couple of things that have cleaned up things for me in the past. The casings were brass, so I thought I might be able to polish it up.

However, I ended up failing to find a good way to clean them up and polish them, so I have put the project on the backburner. Here is what I tried:

The first method I attempted was to put them in hot salt water while touching aluminum foil and adding baking soda. This has shown to remove tarnish off silver in the past, so I thought this might react with the brass and clean it right up… wrong! Didn’t work!

2E586664-79DB-4828-84A1-B20DCE9F07D5.jpeg

53C5C0E0-7BC7-47C2-858F-BA16FAAB4C98.gif

Next, I took out my rotary tool and fitted it with a polishing wheel. I figured this method would shine it right up… wrong! Didn’t work! I will say that it helped a little, but was very slow and did not make that much of a difference.

2648D42D-E61C-43BF-A81B-B2C750654DA8.jpeg

So, I gave up for the moment. Maybe I can try steel wool next. Or does anybody have a recommendation for polishing up brass?

Thanks for visiting today!
Brian

Sort:  

Welcome.
I am a Fish-bot that supports fishing posts.
Thank you for publishing the post and use of the myhuntingfishing,fishing or pl-wedkarstwo tag, which I rewarded with "upvote".
If you care about the development of this bot, all you need is to like this comment, and the power of this fish-bot will grow. Thank you
Witaj.
Jestem Rybo-botem wspierającym tag pl-wedkarstwo i myhuntingfishing
Dziękuje Ci za opublikowanie posta i użycia tagu pl-wedkarstwo lub myhuntingfishing oraz fishing, który nagrodziłem "upvoutem". Jeśli będzie Ci zależało na rozwoju tego rybo-bota wystarczy byś w rewanżu "upwoutował" czyli polubił ten komentarz a moc tego rybo-bota będzie rosła. Dziękuje
Добро пожаловать
Я рыба-бот, который поддерживает рыболовные посты.Спасибо за Ваше сообщение и использование тегов pl-wedkarstwo, fishing или myhuntingfishing который является наградой «upvoutem ». Если вы заботитесь о развитии этого рыцаря, все, что вам нужно сделать, это «взволноваться» в матче-реванше, то есть, как этот комментарий, и сила этого fisboot будет увеличиваться. спасибо

977ed90d51b801891e07b99740d68a9e.gif

You put a lot of effort into that. I really don't have a better idea either. Sorry

I don't have experience cleaning brass, so I can't give any advice. I do think it's cool you're trying to find another use for them though. Good luck!

Really you have tried some good proceess but not working that's very bad. Sometimes cleaning is very difficult. Personally I don't have any experience for polishing up brass.

I am not an expert with the tools or to polish things hahaha I have only tried to polish silver and it is with a cream that they sell in the special shop to polish silver, I think that polishing brass is a complicated job
Greetings friend @brian.rrr

Hi @brian.rrr!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.005 which ranks you at #3611 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has not changed in the last three days.

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 215 contributions, your post is ranked at #127.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Try to improve on your user engagement! The more interesting interaction in the comments of your post, the better!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63877.55
ETH 3143.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97