A Fruity Practice with my Oil Pastels

in #art6 years ago (edited)

Hey guys, today I made another blog post, I am kind of slacking off this past weeks cause we had a two week semester break from school.

Today I practiced with trying to make some fruit illustrations with- of course- my favorite medium, color pastels. The experience of doing the said drawing is a good thing, it made me realize some things about drawing and I enjoyed the whole process. For me, experiences like these are worth sharing to a platform like this. So with that said, let's move into the process of making the said drawing.

Materials used:
-oil pastels
-a letter size vellum board
-and my head which is still fresh from semester break

First thing I did was to start the drawing from the dark values of the apple by rubbing some dark brown on the lower part of the apple. Unlike water colors,
alchohol based markers or computer illustrations that are colored, oil pastels usually starts off from values.

The thing that this principle implements comes up from the layering process which is more effective in oil pastels.
Here, I already started the layering process for the apple, I applied bright red over the dark brown and blended the two colors.Added some more details like shape and fruit stem. I did applied brown on the surface and blended it with red again. I did just repeated
After I got satisfied with blending brown and red I then made some glare effect by blending white color pastel on the light part of the apple.

For the lemon, I used yellow green as the dark undertone for the dark values of the lemon. Choice of undertone colors varies per main color used. For yellow, green and blue is an effective choice. And as you seen above, for red, brown is the choice.
Same thing here, blended yellow above the undertone.
I got frustrated with the color yellow green, I felt the the color wasn't dark enough so I decided to blend in some cobalt blue.
There, much better.
And for the unnamed fruit that I just drew because I was trying dark green as an undertone color for yellow. Can someone name this fruit please, hahaha. Oil pastel is fun.
Recently I've been chatting to some people in the chatroom and we've been talking about Steemit.com.
We had an interesting talk about the coin and the platform. I said that the platform is shitty! Which some of the users I'm talking to agreed as well. Without the free rewards, no one will be using this crappy platform.
Some of them insisted that the platform connects people, I said, other platforms can do that too, we have Facebook.
But you know what?
So far...from Google messenger, Facebook, Friendster, Garena and even Steam(the gaming platform owned by Gabe Newell)...
I just realized that my experience here was the best I had since I got into into social networking platforms.
I thought before that Steemit.com selling trait was the rewards and the block chain...
I think I got it wrong...
There is more in this platform than just the coin...
Done with the oil pastel drawing, as always i felt satisfied with my work. I hope you guys too. Hehehe. :D
How is my drawing today? Did it somehow pleased you? Sorry for some dark shots in the post, I had the flash of my camera off and didn't noticed it. Just noticed it when I started browsing in my PC.

Sort:  

I like the simplicity of this art.

This gem of a post was discovered by the OCD Team! Reply to this comment if you accept, and are willing to let us share your gem of a post! By accepting this, you have a chance to receive extra rewards and one of your photos in this article may be used in our compilation post!


You can follow @ocd – learn more about the project and see other Gems! We strive for transparency.

If you would like to be resteemed by @ocd and reach a bigger audience, use the tag ocd-resteem. Three posts using this tag will be chosen each day by our curators to be RS. Good Luck!

yes please...

Congratulations @bripbrap! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 66367.17
ETH 3007.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71