A Lily that I Drew for our Assignment

in #art7 years ago (edited)

Hey guys, its me again Yui bringing you another oil pastel drawing that I made.


This one I made has some realism in it like what I did with my other post, the koi post. If you haven't seen that one yet, please look at it and upvote, hehehe.

Anyway, if the post already gets a payout will I still gain from it if it gets upvoted? Someone tell me in the comments section please.

Back with our drawing, this is a drawing I made for my art class, Color Rendering 2. The task is simple, just pick a flower as a subject and do it in colored.

For my work, I chose the flower lily cause its easy. XD

Compared to other flowers like rose, hydrangea, chrysanthemum and other complicated flowers, lily is the easiest. Hehehe, me and my laziness strikes again.

List of Materials I used:
• Color pastel
• Vellum board letter sized
• My love for humanity

First thing I did is to cover the back ground with pale green. I just smudged it as if it was nothing.
Then I took my navy blue and applied it over the pale green as if I was drawing a bird's beak. I chose the blue color for my lily cause it has a good combination with the back ground color that I chose.
Applied some gray to blend for the other petal.
then applied some of that navy blue again.
I then applied some sky blue for the body of the flower.
Same thing I did for the inner flower part.
I then blended some navy blue to the lower parts of the flower to show some shadows on it.
Then I added a stem with applying a darker variety of green which is green.
I then worked with the background again before going back to the main subject. I wanted to add some contrast to my work so I added some red orange to the background which I kind of did too far here.
I neutralized the red orange with yellow.
Same thing I did with my pale green. For this part, applying yellow to neutralized the red orange and the pale green will be the effective color since both orange and green have yellow in their origins. Hence, red+yellow=orange, blue+yellow=green. I hate math! Who invented math, he made my life miserable.
I then added pink to add more variety in the back ground.
Then I went back into working with my subject.
I dashed some black lines to the parts that I was trying to emphasize with darkness.
whenever I put black I blend it over with navy blue to make a darker variety of navy blue like what I did here below.
I then took my white and dashed three white lines to be the stamen.
I then lined a thin line of black below the stamen lines to give it more visibility.
I then added the buds at the end of the stamen with gray color.
I wanted to make the contrast richer so I kept adding black and blue on the low part of the petals and added some whites and gray on the high part.
I added some gray on that dark area again and around the flower to emphasize the subject.
And there we have it, my black and blue lily. I hope my teacher gets happy with this work that I had done.


I hope I get at least a B+ for this, I don't know, maybe I'm expecting a grade too high for this? maybe B- will do right?
Well, that is for today, thank you for dropping by, please check me out again next time, see you!

Sort:  

Congratulations @bripbrap! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

good post, your drawing is very wonderful!!
I am artist too, if you want to see my drawings here I leave my profile @arteadictorals

It's beautiful!

You are very talented. Very nice! Thanks for sharing.

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @bripbrap to be original material and upvoted(1.5%) it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 66367.17
ETH 3007.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71