Do you know this painting? #club100steemCreated with Sketch.

in #art2 years ago

Hey art people. Do you know this painting?

20221103_163055.jpg

I acquired this painting in a box of "antiques" at an auction. It is trying very hard to look like an original painting on wood, but I am sure that is not the case. I assume that it is a print decoupaged onto a hand carved wood slab. Yet, the closer I look, the harder it becomes to maintain this assumption.

I can't read the signature except for the date--1848. I tried to peel the suspected print from the wood, but it didn't budge.

When I run my finger across the surface, I can feel the texture of the paint strokes. If this is an attempt at a forgery, they put some effort into it.

I still believe it is a print glued to wood, but who is the painter?

This is a 100% #steemexclusive POWER UP! post for #club100

Sort:  

Good find! It is very similar work with the candle light emanating from the centre of the scene.

I think it's the same author. Look at the link, he has many similar paintings.

Yes, it could be. Maybe I am a rich woman now. :-P

Why "can"? Really rich!

Upvoted! Thank you for supporting witness @jswit.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.031
BTC 67623.71
ETH 3786.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.70