The Observer graphite drawing

in #art7 years ago (edited)

Today has been a rainy one to say the least but it hasn't gotten me down. In fact, I made my first purchase using my STEEM rewards at a little coffee shop in Minneapolis with some help from my friend @kommienezuspadt who guided me through the process. It's definitely changing how I look at currency as it currently stands. Aside from all that, I have more art to share with you! 


This particular piece was cast aside for a while because at the time I was working on it late last fall, I bought an ipad pro and was exploring some of the artistic possibilities with that and generally getting myself acquainted and comfortable with creating art on it.  I was also struggling with what else I wanted to do next with the piece because I wasn't sure where I wanted to take it because everything about the drawing was very organic meaning there was no design in mind. It wasn't even my intention to create a mysterious man in a large bulbous helmet. I am not exactly sure what sparked the flame that pointed me in that creative direction. Sometimes it can be as simple as how the pencil felt as I started making shapes to get my brain firing. Keeping it loose really helps the creative flow because thinking too hard about a design inhibits it to some extent causing one to loose focus and get frustrated. Once you get a solid design started, things tend to come together much quicker as the design evolves. The struggle I faced later was when I was putting in the background. 

Up until recently, backgrounds were never that important to me but I am starting to see that they can be used to create more context for the character if designed well enough. I really wanted this character to have a human like cultural importance. I also wanted the character to appear to be a wise figure who lives in a temple structure. This is the meaning behind the archway with the faux language engraved on the stones. I am hoping to keep pushing myself and my designs to the next level by challenging myself with every new piece. Thank you for taking your time to read this. This message will self destruct in 10 seconds.

Sort:  

Thats dope man!

This is incredible... this is the coolest work I've ever seen on steemit!!!!

Thank you so much! I really appreciate that!

It looks fantastic

.....tick tick tick boom

Nice drawing. And cool you're able to spend steem locally. Very cool indeed

Thank you! Well I had to convert to bit coin and get a bit coin prepaid card etc. It's a process

Very Great Art work. I Loving it.....even if your havent a Epic Story for it. Somehow i woulda perhaps, help you at this. But actually not in that creation modus :) Keep up the Art !

Thank you! I will! I can't help myself but to create!

Hello my friend

It's good to see this wonderful post
It is really very beautiful
Thank you for this nice post
Happy day my friend and always
It is good for me to be here with this wonderful post

Thank you so much for the kind words!

This is insanely good !!! The level of detail is just stunning , real talent ! Followed , upvoted and resteemed . Can't wait to see more art from you .

Great work, Bryan! You've got a new follower ;)

Much appreciated! Thank you!

Congratulations @bryanpolitte! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the total payout received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60385.11
ETH 2889.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.65