The Building of the Horse #4

in #art6 years ago

IMG_0135.JPG
Greetings fellow humans,

Yet again, I bring you a new installment of the adventures of the building of the Horse. Rearing Horse is my upcoming kinetic sculpture for Burning Man 2018. It is made possible in part by a grant from Burning Man Arts Foundation.

In the last post, I was gearing up to move the Horse outside so that I could continue building it upward. This week I started by making that move.

IMG_0114.JPG

IMG_0116.JPG
To set up the horse frame, the first step is to attach the kickstand to the spine frame.

IMG_0117.JPG

IMG_0118.JPG
The kickstand supports the spine during lifting, and holds it in place while the bolts are installed.

IMG_0119.JPG
The kickstand then folds into the body.

IMG_0121.JPG
The neck frame has a front and rear framework, which will later be mechanized to move the head back and forth.

IMG_0128.JPG
The front legs will have a kicking motion when they are finished, so with no linkages to support them they hang down, making the Horse look depressed.

IMG_0129.JPG

IMG_0130.JPG
I wired the legs into place so that I could get a good idea how the piece was going to look when it was more filled out.

IMG_0132.JPG

IMG_0133.JPG
Filling in the head is much easier once you get a few of the key features located. The rear jaw structure, eyes, nostrils, mouth and ears make it pretty easy to visualize the rest of the head and fill it in. At this point the square tube on the top of the face and the ears in the next picture are just place holders until I can find better parts for those positions.

IMG_0139.JPG

IMG_0136.JPG

IMG_0135.JPG

IMG_0137.JPG
The frame is starting to look quite a bit like a horse! Next week I should be able to fill out the head a bit more, and manke some good progress on the mechanical systems in the neck and front legs.

Thanks for reading! Check in next week for another update.

Previous update links:

https://steemit.com/art/@captainyeeha/the-building-of-the-horse-3

https://steemit.com/art/@captainyeeha/the-building-of-the-horse-2

https://steemit.com/art/@captainyeeha/the-building-of-the-horse-1

Sort:  

Decades ago I had a friend who built life-size horses with a framework of rebar and then wove branches over it, setting it out in the field on her farm in Alberta. They looked stunningly alive, more so than if they were done in great detail with other materials. This inspired another fellow student to also weld a life-size horse entirely out of old car bumpers.

Cool! Any Pics?

unfortunately, no. Before the age of digital, I may have had anlog photos, but I don't even have much of my own early work recorded. Albums got lost in the moves.

Have you done other horses before? Reminds me of a horse I saw in ithaca, ny

I have, but only small ones. I will not be the first person to make a horse out of junk. But I can do my take on junk horses, so I have that going for me.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.031
BTC 61757.83
ETH 2905.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.62