The Building of the Horse #7

in #art6 years ago

IMG_2261.JPG

It has been a while since I posted anything on here, so I thought I'd finish up my horse build series. Here are some photos of the build since the last post.

IMG_0214.JPG

Wow it really has been a long time.

IMG_0223.JPG

Often times I end up trying parts out and they don't really work out right. The shiny dome in the belly here is one such part. It wasn't quite right, but it got me pointed in the right direction.

IMG_0226.JPG

When working with found objects, creating symmetry in a sculpture can be a real challenge. Here I had two identical brackets, which was bad, because I needed a left hand and a right hand version to do what I wanted to do with them. I was able to fix the problem by cutting the side arms off and flipping the middle around before welding the part back together.

IMG_0228.JPG

They could then be welded to the head, filling it out considerably.

IMG_0245.JPG

I found an old compressor tank, and the ends worked well for the stomach area.

IMG_2189.JPG

The lower chest piece helped a lot, but the hooves really brought a huge improvement.

IMG_2192.JPG

IMG_2197.JPG

IMG_2210.JPG

This night photo was kind of cool. Perhaps a bit evil.

IMG_2264.JPG

Horses with tails are better than the tail free ones.

IMG_2263.JPG

Should I write any more on this post? The horse votes nay. Thanks for reading.

Sort:  

Well, I've just gone through all the back posts of your build and it was a fun journey. After watching the mechanics test with it in motion I'd love to see it in motion now completed (is it completed or are there some more touches to go?). I can almost see the horse completely in motion!

It was amazing to see it slowly come to together. The night shot is pretty scary. I certainly wouldn't want to greet it alone at night!

I love the hooves. You're so right, larger ones look really good. What did you use for them?

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks, I am glad you enjoyed it. The hooves are made from cut up brake drums and discs mostly.

I'm stunned by this post, your prior posts, and the horse itself. Wow. I see you got a commission/honorarium to do this and I am so glad you did. I was wondering where on earth such a sculpture would end up.

You must have very forgiving neighbors or no neighbors at all. And the nighttime shot as simply amazing. I am so thrilled I got to see this today.

Thank you. I am lucky to have neighbors who are amused by my antics.

Its a great art work .. so great 👌👌👌

Posted using Partiko Android

This is incredibly surprising, I'm very interested in the miniature image. It's fabulous what you managed to do with those materials and also with that size, something fantastic that I had never seen here in steemit, excellent post I loved, a big hug @captainyeeha !!

Dear Artist @captainyeeha ! This post has been resteemed and upvoted from FineArtNow community account. Follow us for more support. The Idea of this blog is to bring creative people and art enthusiasts together and to increase the reach of Steemit - Artists ! See you soon !

When I've seen the title I thought HUH!? Building a horse?! When I opened your post my mouth dropped. This is amazing. I can't even describe how stunning it is. I have seen this kind of art works in Prague. There is a place where students of the Technical university put their pieces together. It's very popular among tourists.

I hope I want offend you by saying that to me it looks like a great way of upcycling. I do understand that this was most likely not what you were doing, but I see old things turned into something beautiful.

Thank you for sharing!

Glad you liked it. It is always nice to give broken down things a new life.

Hi captainyeeha,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiesteem.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

Amazing steampunk art O_O.
                           
Look at how big that horse is, it is truly a majestic creation. I bet it will look spectacular once it is completed.
                         
Congratulations for your curie vote. Totally deserve it :D.

WOW...hey this looks very cool :)

That is one amazing sculpture, @captainyeeha :O I wonder how heavy your horse is! It's really of respectable size in terms of presence !!!

The night picture is kinda scary but also well fitting for Halloween month :D

And I can imagine that it would be difficult to find two parts for each side of the horse, but I think you did wonderfully ! <3

Thank you, I am glad you liked it. I find matching parts when I can, and I cut a part in half to make a matched pairs a lot also. It weighs about 2000 pounds, plus whatever the fence stuff weighs.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 63133.02
ETH 3043.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.63