Scorpion-Monster Art Pipe (LEGENDARY glass blower Hamm!)

in #art6 years ago

Hide your kids, hide your wife

and hide your husband this thing is climbin' in your windows. It's snatchin' your people up :)

Featuring world famous legendary glass artist HAMM!!!



Hamm Scorpion-Monster Art Pipe

Pipe 1.jpg

This twisted beauty

arose out of the mad genius Hamm's imagination :) I am not kidding when I call Hamm a legend. He is world famous in the glassblowing scene, respected as one of the great technical masters and the pioneer of several designs currently popular for dab rigs.

Back in 2007 I commissioned Hamm to make me some monster pipes and glass sculptures. I told him to go crazy. As it turned out my commission sparked his creative juices and it actually kicked off a little phase of cool monster / alien pipes that he made for a bit! I will post more from this commission later.

pipe 2.jpg

This was the largest functional monster pipe that Hamm made me for the commission. Unfortunately I broke it some years ago, breaking off the scorpion tail and the main claw in a terrible accident :(

I opted to just use five-minute epoxy to glue it back together for decorative purposes. It is now just an art object, sitting in a place of honor on a shelf overlooking the living room. Back when this thing was a functioning pipe I actually used it quite a bit, whenever we had a large circle. It does not have a carb but the long scorpion tail gave a very smooth draw and the bowl is huge :)

pipe 5.jpg


Hamm signature October 2007


pipe 4 hamm sig.jpg


Full Disclosure

This content was originally published yesterday on my smoke.io account: https://smoke.io/art/@thunderfuck/glass-i-love-episode-1-hamm-scorpion-monster-art-pipe

Join me on smoke.io where I will be showcasing my blown glass art collection in a series of posts! Most of them won't make it over here to Steem blockchain but this one I felt I had to share :)

Much love - Carl

Sort:  

For any odd reason it reminds me to Giger Alien and for any odd reason I find it cute and want to pet it

yes it is rather cuddly, huh? LOL

me threeeeeee

Look at them beauts <3 <3 <3 What a crazy looking pipe, rad!
Oh & thanks for sharing <3

Yeah the feeling of hitting this pipe was awesome because you were toking off the wicked looking end of that scorpion tail. The design is actually very functional, you have a nice view of the bowl while you are lighting it and the long draw is smooth even with no carb.

Hehe, very nice!

Hi @carlgnash!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 5.237 which ranks you at #779 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has dropped 4 places in the last three days (old rank 775).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 324 contributions, your post is ranked at #224.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You've built up a nice network.
  • The readers like your work!
  • Try to work on user engagement: the more people that interact with you via the comments, the higher your UA score!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63900.40
ETH 3140.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98