Ink Dip W.I.P.steemCreated with Sketch.

in #art5 years ago

No, it's not the Feather Quill pen!

I broke down and got some metal nibs and a handle for my new ink interest. I ended up carving the feather until there wasn't much handle. Every time I was in the mood to make some art I ended up needing to recarve the tip to get the desired effect. It's definitely trial and error when making your own tools!

I know how, where, and when I went wrong... so the next worthy feather should have a happier outcome. However, this inexpensive set of calligraphy nibs has served well for some consistent results. It's taking me a while to get my ink legs back under me after so many years since I got to dippin!

This is being made with some Black Liquid Ink and a Metal Nib with a generic handle. Each line and dot flow from this metal nib for a limited time only. Dipping the pen is almost an art in and of itself. Every now and then I will clean the nib just to assure consistency in the ink flow! As the ink dries on the metal I can feel it affecting the quality of the line and dot starts which can be catastrophic. I am enjoying relearning the process on some standard quality materials so that when I get a chance to upgrade I will really appreciate noticing the differences in application.

2019-01-13-001-001

I don't know how much longer I can keep up the symmetry... but once I break from the tactic I intend on going to town on this thing. At this point I see too many outcomes to know what to design. Maybe it will be best to just let the lines and dots do their thing before I add too much of my own chaos in there!

Thanks for stopping by and taking the time to check this post out! I scanned this image just in case I end up making some irreconcilable mistake. If I do make that fatal "Happy Accident" then I can now, make a copy of this image and start the process again without having to go all the way back to the beginning. I am confident I won't need to do that, as it is kind of cheating in my mind, but it's nice to have a plan B as well. I have another ink image I am working on that I will post soon. Glad to let off a little STEEM getting busy with some ART!

&
STEEM ON MY FRIENDS

Sort:  

What is your long-term goal in this direction?

You mean with this image or with inking by way of dip pens... or just art in general?! =) Thanks for taking the time to ask.

I mean it the ink. Do you think to focus on digital drawing? This will allow the use of more advanced tools. Faster to create designs and entire worlds.

Glad you left the porch light on for me... so it wasn't so hard to find my way!

Hello @castleberry, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

Dear castleberry:

We are SteemBet, the next generation STEEM based gaming platform. We are honored to invite you to join our first fantastic dice game, which is just the beginning of SteemBet game series. Our dividend system has now launched. The prize pool has already accumulated 2,000 STEEM and more than 60 players have participated in staking mining token SBT. A huge reward of 40,000 STEEM is awaiting! Join us NOW with other 500 STEEM users to loot HUGE dividend reward!!

SteemBet Team

Official Website
https://steem-bet.com

Discord Server
https://discord.gg/95cBN3W

Telegram Group
https://t.me/steembet

Congratulations @castleberry! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70557.88
ETH 3560.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.75