Shooting underwater with Nathalie

in #art5 years ago

20181102_0211.jpg

Shooting underwater with Nathalie

Just did my first evening underwater shoot for the season with Nathalie as my model. I wanted to test out a few LED lighting configurations to see if they would be suitable for my underwater projects.

Shooting with a Canon 5DmIII and 16-35mm f4L IS lens in Ikelite housing.

20181102_0103.jpg
My first setup included using what's labelled as 100w RGB LED Flood lights with remote. The actual output is more around 30w at the highest which means I would need at least 4 times more powerful to get a more usable result as I was shooting around 1/60sec, f4, ISO6400 and still too weak for my liking.

20181102_0191.jpg

My second setup used what was labelled as a 300w LED Cool White and made up of 6 x 50w driverless COBS (Chip on board) in a metal housing. Connected to a powermeter I got about 150w at startup and around 117w after its had time to warm up. These type of LED's seem to have limiting circuitry to avoid overheating and thus the reduction in power as the heatsink heated up. Its bright but I was a little disappointed that it wasn't even close to specified rating and more like a third. Photography wise I was averaging ISO 1/80th, f4, ISO3200. I would also need at least 500-1000w actual LED power to get 2-3 stops more light to shoot more comfortably - cut down noise and motion blur/camera shake.

Im also looking at collimators/reflectors and fresnel sheets as a way to direct and increase light output within an area and has been interesting experimenting. I've ordered another LED flood this time a completely different design with 500w labelled output. I tested it and starts around 375w but seems to stable down around 300w - much better output then the first and will be testing it with the next model soon.

20181102_0207.jpg

20181102_0256.jpg

20181102_0297.jpg

20181102_0317.jpg

20181102_0354.jpg


Underwater model shoots is a self funded personal creative art project I do for the sake of creating art and also challenging myself technically to improve as a photographer. Aside from being extremely challenging in all aspects its also one of the most expensive and high risk due to cost of equipment, chance of equipment damage that insurers will not cover, safety for myself and the model/team. Always great to get some feedback, support or help finding sponsors/clients so I can keep these personal projects alive.


chrisdavidphotobanner.png

Sort:  

Nice work here very interesting some of the angles you have managed to capture well done look forward to seeing some more.

Congratulations @chrisdavidphoto! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 21000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 22000 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemFest3 and SteemitBoard - Meet the Steemians Contest

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

I like your project and I love the photos. I can imagine that it's difficult to get such beautifully crisp and colorful photos under water. How much time did she spend under water? :)

Really good stuff. Colour balance and power is always a pain underwater with the blue shift and just the general density increase of water over air.

This post has been upvoted by @photomag and it's curie curation trail after manual review
Please join the community and become a photomag curator in the @c-squared discord server and vote for the @c-squared witness here .

This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

The lighting looks okay to me but I have no idea with actual photographic lighting (I occasionally look up lighting rigs but I can do whatever I want in 3d space). I particularly love the reflection shots :)

Wow! Creativity on the next level 👍🎨

Posted using Partiko Android

Congratulations @chrisdavidphoto! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 22000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 23000 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62934.09
ETH 3118.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85