Sketch of Pre-Colombian Maya Mask Sculpture

in #art5 years ago

I love ancient cultures and their various art forms. Here is a sketch I did of a photograph I took in 1995, of a Pre-Colombian Maya Mask Sculpture, which was on display at the National Museum of Anthropology, Merida, Yucatan.
(I love going to museums.)

CMD MAYAN SCULPT ART Merida _Fotor.jpg

The term, “Pre-Columbian,” is the era depicted in the Americas before Christopher Columbus, the Italian Dude, who worked for the Spanish Catholic Church, invaded the Caribbean Islands, North America, Central and South America. Everywhere they landed, the Spanish colonized the territory, and the Maya, Inca and many other indigenous peoples of North America were massacred.

These people were artists, musicians, builders, gardeners, scientists, astronomers, philosophers, priests, mothers, babies…….about any and all whom were not of Spanish or European blood.

Throughout the Americas, Archaeologists have discovered remnants of vast, scientific and cultured civilizations that exhibit extreme abilities in every sense.

I used this sketch as a foundation for an oil painting I painted called, “Maya.” I scanned it, then used Fotor Graphic Program for background texture and border.

Thank you for reading and looking at my Maya sketch if you did….Colette :)

Sort:  

Well, yeah .......I think it is the teeth. They lost their teeth a lot; so I suppose when sculpting a Pre-Columbian Mayan, whose smiling, it might have been difficult getting said person in the right perspective.....But yeah, I know what you mean......Cheers

Congratulations @circulartimes! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 10 comments. Your next target is to reach 50 comments.

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Valentine challenge - Love is in the air!

You can upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

oh - i love this! i don't think it looks scary at all! I think it looks extremely exotic!!! :)

I'd be really interested in seeing your oil painting based on this! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 69344.75
ETH 3687.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.27