A Tribute Post To Four Amazing Mothers In My Life

in #art6 years ago (edited)

collage.png

Yesterday the world's celebrated Mother's Day. I did a short post about my day here: Happy Mother's Day, Steemians!. Like I mentioned in that post, we did a simple celebration at home, nothing fancy because that was how I wanted it. Anyway, personally for me, Mother's Day is not complete without making a tribute post to four amazing mothers in my family.

My mother

7.JPG

I sketched and gifted this portrait to my mom in 2017. This portrait was featured on the eksentrika website, a website dedicated to inspire, showcase and promote creative talents in Malaysia. I posted about my mom several times in the past but I think another post about her will do no harm. She is my mother after all and I want the world to know how awesome she is. My mom was born to a family of ten siblings. When she was in school, she was taught by the foreign missionaries and could speak and understand English very well. However, she only studied up to Form 2 and had to quit school. However, her education did not stop there. She applied to work in the Agriculture Department and was sent for training. She worked with the Department until her retirement. Her job required her to travel to rural places for many days. And when she came back from work, her job did not end there. She had to do household chores too and back then we did not own a washing machine so she had to hand wash our laundry. When I was 9 years old I started to wash my own clothes because I wanted to lighten her load. She is a superb cook, a gardener, and a crafter. These days she spends her time doing crafts, needlework, cross stitches and bead works. She celebrated her 75th birthday in January and she shows no sign of slowing down.

My mother-in-law

IMG_1639.JPG

This stencil portrait was a gift for my mother-in-law. My mother-in-law is an exceptional woman. She is illiterate because her parents denied her the privilege of going to school. It did not stop her from earning a living to support her husband and raise their five children. She worked really hard to put food on the table and despite her illiteracy, her fighting spirit never wavers.

My sisters

15032198_10154635014314070_4090861045975523440_n.jpg

IMG_1661.JPG

They are my older sisters and despite our big age gaps, we are quite close to one another. However, when we were younger I was often "bullied" by them but it was things of the past. Unlike me, my sisters are soft-spoken and very kind. They are always among the first ones to extend a helping hand when someone needs help, be it among family members or friends.

I think that's it about my sisters. I don't think they will appreciate it if I write too much about them publicly. My sisters are introverts like me and prefer not to disclose too many details about themselves especially online. (One of them doesn't even own a Facebook account.)

Thank you for checking out my post!

My previous posts:

Happy Mother's Day, Steemians!

My Sketchbook | Unity, Respect, Tolerance

Watercolor Stencil Painting | Tun Mahathir Mohammad

Pencil Portrait Sketch | My First Passport Photo


I am selling some of my paintings over on Artfinder. Shipping is FREE worldwide. You can check them out here: ARTFINDER.

My gifts & merchandise available at REDBUBBLE (international), Printcious & CreativeUnited (Malaysia).

Thank you!


FINALUSE3.jpg

My avatar was illustrated by @pinstory

Sort:  

You've been upvoted by TeamMalaysia community. Here are trending posts by other TeamMalaysia authors at http://steemit.com/trending/teammalaysia

To support the growth of TeamMalaysia Follow our upvotes by using steemauto.com and follow trail of @myach

Vote TeamMalaysia witness bitrocker2020 using this link vote for witness

Cool portraits your post in it's simplicity was very strong , i like it and the way you draw your mum, so cute you two are <3

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 62772.18
ETH 3032.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67