Stencil Painting | A Despairing Angel

in #art6 years ago (edited)

header.jpg

After a couple of weeks of being busy with life including taking care of my son who had an asthma attack last week, I finally have some time to devote to painting. Nothing is more enjoyable other than spending some time alone, in solitude, and working on my art. But that kind of time is rare for me, so most of the time I make do with pockets of free time in between caring for my family and stuff.

I called this piece A Despairing Angel.

Here are the progress photos and a bit of explanation on the process.

By the way, this is a mixed-media painting. I began by applying a wet layer of purple poster paint.

1.jpg

While the paint was still wet, I applied a layer of pink poster paint. I tilted the paper and let the colors mixed together. I was careful not to let it get too muddy. Next, I sprinkled some table salt to create an interesting effect.

2.jpg

After the paint dried, I applied white acrylic paint on top of it. I let it dry overnight before sketching the stencil outline with a pencil.

3.jpg

And finally, I painted the stencil with black acrylic paint.

4.jpg

5.jpg

The completed painting!

6.jpg

It's available for sale on my Artfinder store. Free shipping worldwide but it typically takes a month to arrive at your destination (depending on your location).

Thank you for checking out my post!

My previous posts:

Happy Father's Day! | My Dada.nyc Drawing

Self-Portrait | My Dada.nyc Drawing

The Beginning | My First Dada Drawing

Simple Painting | The Violet Cosmos

Art Jamming With My Kids

Raising Fund For Hope Worldwide Malaysia | Bolathon Charity Fun Run & Masquerade Walk 2018

I am selling some of my paintings over on Artfinder. Shipping is FREE worldwide. You can check them out here: ARTFINDER.
My gifts & merchandise available at REDBUBBLE (international), & CreativeUnited (Malaysia).

Thank you!

FINALUSE3.jpg

My avatar was illustrated by @pinstory

Sort:  

Love how you mixed so well all the elements. Admit this is so inspirational, makes me want to try out myself in it @colorigiship.

Thank you for the compliment @jungwatercolor. I love your watercolor portraits but I am yet to give it a try. Soon... XD

That would be really nice to see, you should try out, :)

That was so awesome bro.

Thank you for the compliment but I am not a bro.

Hahaha sorry for that girl

I’m so sorry to hear about your asthma attack!
What a cool technique, you are giving me ideas for my painting class tomorrow ;) Resteemed!

Thank you @edouard. Glad it inspires you.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 62772.18
ETH 3032.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67