Tiger Stencil Painting - Work In Progress Part 1

in #art7 years ago (edited)

One of the stencil artists that inspires me a lot is Katie Robinson. I read an interview of hers about a couple of months ago and she mentioned about using whatever materials available to you if you can't afford the expensive stuff. One thing I remembered she recommended was to use wood panels if you can't afford canvasses.

Wood panels? Why didn't I think of that? I have plenty of wood panels lying around at home which came from old broken furniture. I thought of getting rid of them but somehow the hoarder in me said to keep them for future art projects.

So I have been thinking of doing a tiger stencil painting and I thought this is the perfect time to use my wood panel.

I found a copyright-free public domain image of a tiger and manipulated it on GIMP to create my stencil.

()

And here are my wood panels. I removed the screws and sandpapered them. I only need one for this project though.

()

I applied the first layer of the background using acrylic paints. Usually I don't have the result I want in mind. I just play around with the paints, not thinking much about the end result. I am just enjoying the process. So here is the outcome. I set it aside and let it dry overnight. I shall continue with part 2 tomorrow.

19749430_10155359719684070_1389571714_o.jpg

Visit part 2 here: Tiger Stencil Painting - Finally Completed!

My Previous Posts

Upvote and resteem if you think they are worthy. Thank you!

Four Unpleasant Situations I Encountered As A Portrait Artist

Hi I Am Olivia a.k.a Coloringiship From Borneo Land of the Headhunters Stencil Portrait Coloring Book Artist

shop logo.png

Upvote, Resteemed & Follow Me @coloringiship

Sort:  

really nice .. thx for sharing

Thank you @bitrocker2020. This post has gone viral LOL. I didn't expect that. I think I am addicted to Steemit :D

You deserved it ! 😁 Cheers

Congratulations @coloringiship! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

great post, can't wait to see what's coming next. I've always thought of trying some stenciling, but haven't gone for it yet

Give it a try. It's tedious but fun. I am always feel inspired by street/pop art. By the way, thank you for visiting my post :)

Finally! Ages later I can understand how you create your art. I know what stencils are, of course, and I've created my own for etching glass. It just didn't click to me how you made them.

Also a great post. I really love seeing the art in progress.

Thank you @shelahdowart. Hand cutting the stencils is the most challenging part. Some portions often get cut off accidentally.

Awesome, love seeing the progress shots, very great to see the process behind the work !

I am reluctant to share the process but I thought why not give it a try? I love seeing other artists progress too and I bet people would love seeing mine 😂

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 70893.40
ETH 3659.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.76