Winner Announcement | Weekly Doodle Contest Week #2 WINNER

in #art6 years ago (edited)

header.png

I am going to announce the winner of Doodle Contest Week #2. The contest ended yesterday night, 28 March 2018 at 10 PM, GMT+8. There were twenty six Steemians submitted their entries, unfortunately, I had to disqualify four of them due to their failure to adhere to the rules. So guys, for the next contest (or any contest) please follow the rules closely. I hate to reject anyone but I have to be fair to the rest of the entrants.

Needless to say, all of the entries are amazing. A big thank you to everyone who took the time to participate. Your support and participation are highly appreciated.

As mentioned in my announcement post, I will pick the winner based on what amuses and moves me the most. I spent several hours going through all of the entries and I am amazed by everyone's creativity, particularly those who included the backstory to their doodles. Some were very funny and made me laugh out loud.

So without further ado, let me announce the WINNER!

Weekly Doodle Contest Week #2 WINNER

@redtomato - SBD4

redtomato - winner.jpg

Every time I look at this picture, I will smile. So what's going on in this picture? Apparently, a bunch of friends (vegetables and fruits) decided to go to the beach to have some fun time. A couple of them went for a banana boat ride, some were playing volleyball or hula hooping. They were having so much fun until a tragedy strike! The poor egg cracked due to the scorching heat...and that is why they have that sunny-side up on the beach. I am sure the waves will wash it away soon and the friends will have to bid it goodbye. Do visit @redtomato's post to read her creative process.

The Honorable Mentions

Because I love so many of the entries I decided to award SBD0.4 each to five other participants.

@kaerpediem - SBD0.4


1 - kaerpediem.jpg

The super mummy. I applaud @kaerpediem's creativity because she wrote a rhyming poem to accompany her artwork. This mom has to juggle so many tasks and roles in a day until she is so frazzled and turns into an alien octopus 😂. Please visit @kaerpediem's post to read her delightful poem.

@iamjadeline - SBD0.4


2 - iamjadeline.jpg

Another fantastic doodle that celebrates the joys and woes of motherhood. I can totally relate to her doodles. I am touched because @iamjadeline included some raw truth about being a parent - yes, we farted (who doesn't? 😂), we have meltdowns, we lost our control and turn into hulks etc. Here is the link to her entry, Life of a Mama (featuring A-Z characters).

@trishy - SBD0.4


3 - trishy.jpg

Trishy based her characters on her high school friends. I think that is a clever idea. We all have those funny friends from our schooling time, so why not immortalized them in doodles? I can particularly relate to The Music Lover in Trishy's doodle. I remember carrying a boombox around and spending the weekends dancing to some hit tunes at the dorm 😆. Those were the days 💃. Here is the link to Trishy's entry: My Alien Squad.

@ishanvirtue - SBD0.4


4 - ishanvirtue.jpg

@ishanvirtue decided to doodle his name and his inspiration is, of course, himself LOL. Those big-lipped characters are hilarious and according to Ishan those funny characters are him because he has big lips LOL. I really like it when people show the fun side of themselves or able to poke fun at themselves. Here's the link to @ishanvirtue's post: MY ENTRY FOR Doodle Contest

@barbara-orenya - SBD0.4


5 - barbara orenya.jpg

I am quite familiar with @barbara-orenya's whimsical art because both of us are quite active in the Steemit "art contest circuit". I knew she has this special funny character called Wonkie who always go on adventures at BlueWonkieLand. Wonkie is an alien, I believe, please correct me if I am wrong, Barbara. In this painting, Wonkie is off to another of his adventure with his trusted donkey. Judging by their smiles, I am sure they are up to some mischievous adventure. (This is beside the point but Barbara is using (the most coveted) Caran D'Ache Neocolor pastels for her work. This pastel set is on my wish-list but good God they are very pricey and the price range is between MYR200 (basic set) and up to MYR1300 for the full set 😵). Here is the link to her entry: My WonkieRide painting.

Other Highlights

Apart from the amazing entries by the winners, I received quite a number of creative entries.

In @heartscally's entry, she doodled little alphabetical monsters using her Steemit handle - H-E-A-R-T-S-C-A-L-L-Y. And to "add a little zest of friendship/community vibes", she assigned each alphabet to a Steemit blogger.

In @esdee's entry - Oh My Funny Dinor, she used a fridge magnet as a prop for her drawing. Who would think of using a fridge magnet? 😄

I also received a couple of entries from junior participants; Jayden who is @iamjadeline's son and @annabellenoelle. I was thinking if I have several junior participants, I would probably create a special category just for them. Probably I should include that in my next post.

That's it for now folks. Please feel free to visit those entries above and check out the rest of their work and do give them a follow.

Congratulations to all the winners!

I will transfer the SBD reward to you shortly!

Update

prove reward.PNG

A big thank you to all the participants. I loved all of your entries. I will announce the third doodling contest tomorrow and do give me a follow (if you haven't) so you won't miss my announcement post. Stay tuned!

My previous posts:

“Who is Your Favourite?” Contest #1 | Disney Tangled's Rapunzel

Tutorial Part 2 | How To Vectorize Doodle Using A Free Online Tool And Create A Transparent PNG In GIMP

My Family | Fun Time At The Local Recreational Park

My Recent W-I-P | Who Is Your Favorite Contest?

Lion Doodle Finally Available At My Redbubble Store

Tutorial Part 1 | How I Clean My Doodle In GIMP (Free Software Alternative to Photoshop

The Lion Head Doodle


I am selling some of my paintings over on Artfinder. Shipping is FREE worldwide. You can check them out here: ARTFINDER.

My gifts & merchandise available at REDBUBBLE (international), Printcious & CreativeUnited (Malaysia).

Thank you!


FINALUSE2.jpg

My avatar was illustrated by @pinstory

Sort:  

Congratulations to all winners! 👏👏

WOAHHH, some amazing entries here!!! Congratulations to all winners! Creativity unleashed! :)

Wow, congrats to all winners U deserved it! ;)

Wooow thanks @coloringship and congratulations to all the winners ^_^ also to me yaaaaaaay

Thank you much @coloringiship and to all the participants : congrats.png, the submissions were great and this was a joyful contest ^_^

On another point, the one of the Neocolor II ... :
I have converted your monney in euro to see how much it costs by you and Hell yes, it's pricey !!
I know caran d'ache is expensive,
I don't know exactly how much is a box in France,because I have bought my pastels individually , for I don't use most of the colors contained in a box so it would be wasted money for nothing ...
I buy only the desired colors (and you will notice in my paintings that it is always the same ones that come back) and with these I make mixes or gradients that allow me to widen my palette of color ... but overall I have about 10-12 pencils bought 1.60 euros the unit what makes less than 20 euros - MYR 95.32 !

Congratulations. Lovely entry.

Thank you @crittercrats ;-) Love yours also, greatly done ! ^_^

Thank you for the tip on Neocolor @barbara-orenya but as far as I know, there is no shop selling it individually here. They always come in a set. Any premium art materials are imported either from the USA, UK or Europe. But I am hoping the Steem will rise again and probably then I can afford to buy the cheapest set XD

Maybe it is still cheaper here than it is if you buy in your country..? tell me if you want me to send you a box from France when you will have the funds ;-)

That sounds wonderful @barbara-orenya. Sure, when the time comes I will let you know again. It probably is cheaper even with shipping cost.

Congratulations to @redtomato. And thank you for the honorable mentions. So many awesome entries. 😍

Thank you @iamjadeline. Great job to you as well, not an easy feat to come up with different doodles for 26 alphabets. 👏

Thank you thank you thank you!!! I am so happy you liked The Mummy @coloringiship 😁 ... She doing the Macarena with her alien tentacles now!!

Thank you so much @coloringiship for picking my submission as the winning entry of the week, I'll frame the painting and hang it on the wall. 😆

Congratulations to the other winners and good job to everyone who participated!

Congratulations to the winners!

Thank you for sharing your posts with us. This post was curated by TeamMalaysia as part of our community support. Looking forward for more posts from you.

To support the growth of TeamMalaysia Follow our upvotes by using steemauto.com and follow trail of @myach

Vote TeamMalaysia witness bitrocker2020 using this link vote bitrocker2020 witness

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61562.85
ETH 2891.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.43