Sacred Art in Secular Terms

in #art6 years ago

As some of you know, I've been resteeming @symbolism and upvoting the content he has put on D.Tube. His name is Jonathan Pageau and he is an Orthodox Christian icon carver and a public speaker. He lives less than an hour away from me and we had the chance to meet once at his house.

I discovered him through Jordan Peterson. The first video was about Tradition and Things That Don't Fit and the second was The Metaphysics of Pepe which has been viewed 350,041 times so far. I am not an Orthodox Christian myself but I have always been fascinated by the symbolic language since I was a child. Before becoming Christian 2 years ago, I would binge watch symbolic interpretation of movies as a hobbie.

If you get a chance, watch his video on the symbolic interpretation of Shrek or Star Wars the Last Order on his channel. They are marvellous to listen to.

The Decay of Art

I don't know for you but currently the world of art is just a cacophony of irony. Even the meaning of the word "Art" is in question. When everything can be art then nothing is...really.

We've all seen those articles about a ridiculous painting being sold for 100Million dollars and wondering what kind of wacko would buy what a toddler could do with red paint and a canvas. Those piece are always accompanied by some incomprehensible explanation that is just a bunch of words mashed together to sound sophisticated.

2017_NYR_14995_0015B_000(cy_twombly_untitled).jpg

Red is the colour of wine, but also of blood, and these canvases encompass both the sensual pleasure and violent debauchery associated with the god. This contrast is echoed in the paintings' combination of euphoric loops that soar upwards and vermilion floods of paint that ooze and cascade down the canvas.

This "wonder" was sold for almost 50 Million dollars and art "experts" described it like this:

His madness is a circle of fire, an unbroken circuit of excess, each attempt at containment spilling into the next’

To add to the irony, the painter didn't even care enough to give it a title. The painting is called: "Untitled".

A Possible Way Through - Rebooting the Franchise

I believe the visual art franchise needs to be rebooted...not through some sort of nostalgia for the past but through digging deep down into our cultural and spiritual roots to revivify it. At first, I just knew that contemporary art was pretty much a scam directed by a few elites wrapping themselves with a vaneer of sophistication...but when I listened to this talk this morning, I knew that Jonathan Pageau is onto something deep and meaninful.

I highly recommend watching the video at the top of the page and share your thoughts in the comments below.

Sort:  

It is amazing how little thought people today give to symbolism. Throughout the ages, people were well aware of the symbols used. Every tradition has them going back thousands of years. Yet today, we pay no attention.

Of course, that does not mean that we do not use them. Madison Avenue has clients spending billions to make sure we recognize and interpret the symbols the way they want us to. We call it branding but it is rally symbolism.

We think in pictures. That is something that most forget. Hence, when something is ingrained in us, especially without questioning, it carries meaning. Is it any wonder Ronald McDonald is one of the most recognized figures in the world. The symbolism of what that character means to children is well honed.

Symbolism is not only present in the content and message, but in the forms, the mediums and the very uses of art. Christian art can be a true and honest engagement within the contemporary world, one which neither ignores the visual and conceptual revolutions of the last centuries nor attempts to paste the Christian message on forms and aesthetics which negate this very message.

absolutely. I don't like propaganda which tends to put the message before the art...even when it is Christian. But in the case of liturgical art, it is actually lived out and embodied...it seems to meld perfectly the balance of message and art.

Do you think that a revivification of lithurgical art, even in secular society, could reboot the franchise of art as we know it?

thank you friend I am very interested in the subject, I would like to start a conversation with you at some point,

You have a lot of followers and many comments, so I don’t expect you to miraculously read my response to overall opinion regarding art and Christianity. I’m just expressing my feelings as a Christian. However there have certainly been great modern fiction writers who have identified themselves as Christians such as Flannery O'Connor, for example. But it is hard to think of many great contemporary visual artists who have made Christian faith central to their work. Given our habits of viewing art aesthetically and psychologically rather than religiously, paintings that involve the appropriation of Christian imagery from antique pictures do not necessarily read as expressions of faith. As a New York resident there’s "The Next Generation: Contemporary Expressions of Faith" at the Museum of Biblical Art, 1865 Broadway, at 61st Street, Manhattan. I will be definately watching your video.

The issue with a lot of "Christian" inspired art is that they are not rooted in it's practice and looks more like propaganda (where the message come before execution). It feels like liturgical art is actually embodied and practice in real life rather than simply sending an "idea" out there in the world.

There is just so many bad Christian movies, music and books that sell well to that niche because they are big fish in small ponds but fail to reach the masses like Lord of the Rings or The Chronicles of Narnia for the same reason as above. Nobody reads LoR thinking that it's full of Christian symbolism and totally enjoy it has a great piece of literature first and foremost.

I think by having artist, even as atheist, reconnect with the deep stories found in the bible, we can "reboot" the franchise by having art that connects at every level of being...rather than just blatant irony and politics.

It was realy interesting watching Jonathan Pageau talking about symbolism in Shrek movie as the most illuminating movie in history. Intersting way he spoke about sins, sins of Adam and Eva, sin of Satan being punished by God, sins of Peter eventualy denying Jesus three time as Jesus predicted. I already knew about it, but it’s nice to be reminded of it. I’m falowing now Jonathan Pageau, because I have very similar opinions when it comes to this subject. Thank you for responding to my comment.

I agree with you..

If that is art, then my 4 year old little brother is the greatest artist of all time.
He also makes things like this and leaves them without a title

You said that painting sold for $50 million? Good God!

It often baffles me whenever I see people expressing love for things I don't understand or find to be beautiful.

Let me watch the video and return here.

Even the meaning of the word ''Art'' is in question.

Definitely. Always has been; probably always will be. I agreed, though, that the present state is getting worse. And not with the visual arts alone even.

Haha. 'Untitled' is crazy. Jesus Christ what has the world come to!? 5 million dollars? Without even a title, haha.

Oh and..@symbolism is awesome.

50Mil... I know. Ridiculous.

That's even more ridiculous! I thought I saw five! Just showed this to some of my friends and the incredulity on their faces was priceless!

Sensual pleasure and violent debauchery my ass.

Who is the idiot that buy this painting in 50 million dollars.....i never took painting brush in my hand but i'm pretty sure that i can make better circle than this.....

look at art to enjoy it and marvel at this very unique human desire to create, decorate, and reproduce. it wassold fr 50 million $... u might be missing something :p

In the event that that is craftsmanship, at that point my 4 year old younger sibling is the best craftsman ever.

He additionally makes things like this and abandons them without a title

I don't understand what the hell is wrong with people. They try to find meaning in something I call shit, that's no art. That's just people fooling other foolish fools. Yeah absolutely the paintings are sold for millions and true art is not appreciated. I don't see the irony in that. This shit makes me nauseous.

Truly I've been amazed at some so called Art works sold for millions of dollars and I always wonder what's behind the painting that made it cost so much but from reading this it's quite hilarious to find out that there is nothing spectacular about the painting, truly just some bunch of words mashed together to sound sophisticated. If it was quality and beauty then my friends would have been billionaires by now. Nevertheless I'll love to watch the video and see what Jonathan Pagaeu has to share. Thanks for sharing

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64961.60
ETH 3103.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86