Beets and Bugs and Watercolor. My third attempt at watercolor and painting! Bonus first two painings included!

in #art7 years ago (edited)

Beets and Bugs: A journey into discovering my creative side and watercolors.


Gotta love screwing up the title on the blockchain.

Today without time to buy a birthday card I decided to paint some butterfly wings I had found a couple weeks ago while walking. I decided to take out my girlfriends watercolors and get to work. This was for her mother so who is a great artist so the pressure was on, as much as I know she would love it ugly or not!

IMG_0194.JPG


As she was making salad for the birthday lunch I starting painting away. She showed me a beet with a beautiful center. Without hast I ask for the halves and stuck them gently on the card. Reminding myself to go with the flow while being creating I thought this was the best move to make at the time.

IMG_0196.JPG

The Setup


One of the cool things I noticed about the dragonfly wings is that eat of the little holes where in the shape of irregular pentagons. It's amazing to see geometry in nature. This was a pretty hard painting to get around in my head took a lot of concentration especially because I had the jitters from 2 cups of coffee already. You can't be perfect with water colors and you gotta work with it instead of against it.

IMG_0197.JPG

Purple Beet Paint Success


Check out these beets. They've got a beautiful center. I was quite surprised on how much of the color transfered onto the paper. I'm really impressed with the results.

IMG_0199.JPG

Finished Beets


Seasons beets roasted on a skillet with garlic and fresh herbs. Perfect with veggies and couscous.

IMG_0201.JPG

Finished Painting


I'm really happy with the result. It definitely gives me the courage to do more art now so hopefully I'll be posting some more work soon!

The Final Result!


dragon-wings-final.png

Here is the bonus paintings I promised!

This was my first painting where I experimented using lots of water and observing where the colors went. I wasn't sure was I was painting but it ended up being fish. I was thrilled to have made something on accident. At the time it seemed so unlikely but at the same time seemed like it was meant to end up that way.
SCAN0002.JPG

I was going to do a nice write up on the chakras but I realized I had copied the wrong picture online and was copy one with 8 instead of 7 which included an upper throat chakra if memory serves me correctly. I might do a repaint and do a series on each chakra.
SCAN0004.JPG

For more tech, science and futurology news follow me on Steemit at @Cryptophunk

Check out some more posts:

Don't forget to Vote, Resteem, and Follow!

Sort:  

This post has received a 21.43 % upvote from @lovejuice thanks to: @cryptophunk. They have officially sprayed their dank amps all over your post rewards. GOOD TIMES! Vote for Aggroed!

This post has received a Bellyrub and 2.69 % upvote from @bellyrub thanks to: @cryptophunk. Send SBD to @bellyrub with a post link in the memo field to bid on the next vote, every 2.4 hours. Be sure to vote for my Pops, @zeartul, as Steem Witness Hope you enjoyed your bellyrub!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 65231.30
ETH 2943.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66