Painting the bright side

in #art6 years ago

imagen.png

We're always taught to draw lines to surround what we're drawing, to symbolise the presence without the presence. Then, we're taught how to do shadows, because white is absolute light and all we have to do is darken here and there and we're left wih the light shapes that we want. But why don't we just spill lighter colors on darker canvases and draw the light?

It's always the shadows, the dark sides. I'm not exempt from this tendency.

But I like variation, innovation, though I don't do it much. It's harder to draw the lights when we're accustomed to paying attention to the opposite. It's mindbreaking, difficult, sometimes even headache-inducing. I want to make brushes that are hard to handle. That way I could make my head hurt for a while, but later on, in the long term, my mind would be expanded.

When I first started drawing light-on-dark, it was really hard as I described. Then it became easier. But I've been drawing on paper for almost a year (whereas I only drew digitally for three to four months last year). Habit is hard to overcome. I'm rusty again with drawing, and even more with unconventional methods, but practice makes perfect! So let's keep it up and paint the bright side of the world. :)

Sort:  

It's always hard at the start, but when you take the first step ideas will naturally start flowing.

Yeap. Sometimes you don't see the problem until you dive right into it, but then you see everything much more clearly.

Your rusty art is better than my non-rusty art. Ok, mine is rusty too. Just saying you're good!

:) Thanks. I hope I can keep drawing frequently to de-rust my art! I really love painting. If you make artsies, I want to see them. <3

Dear Artzonian, thanks for using the #ArtzOne hashtag. Your work is valuable to the @ArtzOne community. Quote of the week: Art, freedom and creativity will change society faster than politics. -Victor Pinchuk

I super love the first pic Sharon! I love anything bright and I love how you got to make that beautiful face. ^^

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64275.02
ETH 3139.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.14