Maps (Part one)

in #art6 years ago

A project carried out during sixth form saw me bringing the outside in.

During this project I thought a lot about my relationship to place and, given that I am mostly introverted and spend a lot of time at home, the places that meant a lot to me were (and still are) limited.

That being said, I still took those places, and combined them with the places those important to me found meaningful, and put them together to create a hybrid map of meaningful places. That map was then combined with various pieces of furniture often found in the bedroom to show connectivity and intimacy between myself, those important to me, and those places that held meaning.

These are a few of the experiments:

IMG_6521copy.jpg

IMG_0964 copy.jpg

IMG_6537copy copy.jpg

No machinery was used to put the maps onto their surfaces, all was done by hand, with hand tools. This was important because the amount of time spent creating these pieces represents the time taken to build memories and strong relationships with those meaningful people and places.


Part two will feature the final piece for this project, the likes of which took around 30+ hours to complete!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61219.98
ETH 2927.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66