"Iron & Glass" (9x12 oil on panel) painting process

in #art6 years ago

Greetings,
My painting space has usually doubled as my gym. The studio/gym combo has been a basement (once) or a garage (thrice). It is my ideal work environment. Sometimes the equipment makes it into a painting.

still_life_173stagesteemitthumb.jpg

detail

The setup. The juxtaposition of a nigh-indestructible iron kettlebell amongst a sea fragile glassware was pleasing to me 😁. I chose the light background to support my objective of dark kettlebell as focal center. The glassware adds interest while being able to remain ghostly/subservient and retaining dominance of the kettlebell's dark value. In several ways, the glassware is the common majority in the composition and the kettlebell is the odd man out. Every decision (color, value, level of detail) is intentional.

still_life_173stage00.jpg

First stage: (I was on a roll so I neglected taking photos at the very beginning of the painting)
I ended up adding a small glass on the right side to improve the composition. The kettlebell is such a pleasing shape to paint.

still_life_173stage01.jpg

Next stage:

still_life_173stage02.jpg

At the beginning of the painting, I put out my full palette of colors because I wasn't sure what I'd end up needing. As it turned out, not much. For the second sitting I only put out the colors I'd used thus far. A limited palette of ivory black, ultramarine blue, burnt umber, yellow ochre, cad yellow medium, cad lemon, and titanium white.

still_life_173stage03.jpg

still_life_173stage04.jpg

The blob of goo in the lower left hand corner is Neo Megilp (Gamblin), one of my favorite mediums.

And the finished painting, "Iron & Glass" (9x12 oil on panel, 2013):

still_life_173stagefinal.jpg

Thanks for reading! -David

sigbanner.jpg

My Website

My Instagram

Sort:  

Gorgeous! I love the broken color and the objects - really excellent!!!

Awesome, thanks! 😁

I love your artwork, and also that you added the glass in the composition :)
Love the visual texture in this one.

Thank you very much! 😁

art is a love and art is a passion. A artist is great human than others. i liked your art @davidcheifetz. You have much talent. keep it up.. Thank you

i uovoted and resteemed you post

this is a 10.

This is awesome!!

I love the choice of subject matter. I really connect with it.

Thank you! Had to follow you because of your bio 🖖😁

Ahhh nothing beats the old school medium they will always be my favourite. Beautifully drawn :)

Good work! :-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 62873.38
ETH 3037.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.63