"Revival" (9x12 oil on panel) painting process

in #art6 years ago

Good morning,
A new still life painting. Here is the closeup because, well, a good thumbnail seems important here :).

still_life_321stagesteemthumb.jpg

Here is the setup in my studio and the start of the painting. I love my freshly painted dark matte gray walls. The easel is an Edge Pro Gear Paintbook. Great for smaller paintings:

still_life_321stage01.jpg

Next stage. That's a Robert Simmons filbert bristle brush. My favorite type of brush. This is size 2, but my most-used workhorse is a size 4:

still_life_321stage02.jpg

Next stage. The persimmon (and secondarily the silver pot) is the star of the show here. All of my composition decisions (setup, color, value, detail) are based on creating focus here:

still_life_321stage03.jpg

And the finished painting, "Revival" (9x12 oil on panel),

still_life_321stagefinal.jpg

This painting was the first after my recent 7-month hiatus, and thus has some significance for me. As I've previously shared with my email newsletter subscribers, here is the quick reason for the hiatus: Moved from Seattle to Olympia, WA. After 4 yrs at home with kids, my wife resumes her career. So we swap roles. I do full time dad. Many adjustments and learning experiences. House hunt. Buy house. Move again. Get settled. Adjustments. Just recently I'm getting back into a painting groove as much as possible while being dad. Yay! This one sold immediately, which made for a good start back in action.

Thanks for reading! -David

sigbanner.jpg

My Website

My Instagram

Sort:  

Beautifully painted :)

Thank you!😁

What an an amazing painting - I love the way back ground is so obviously bedaubed with paint but the fruit and teapot look so real you feel that you could pick them up (and that they would be smeared in green paint).
Even though you’ve shown the pictures of the work in progress I still can’t quite believe that the tea pot isn’t real.

Awesome, thanks so much! :D

Really nice painting! love the fresh brushstrokes

Thanks! Love your sketch, had to follow you

This is amazing! I wish to paint as beautifully as this. I hope to see more of this in my feed (so that somehow I may learn and may be inspired to oilpaint!). Keep it up :)

Awesome thank you 😊! I'll keep posting 👍

Amazing work, the brushwork and reflective quality is on point. I love how the edges of the work fades into heavier brushwork and grey really driving focus to that superb reflective tea pot. So well done.

I love finding other artists so am now following you, happily :)

Thank you very much! I'm looking at your art now, great stuff 👍🙏

magnificent ! a master piece, really ! you have such great talent, keep it on ! thank you for sharing.

Thank you! 😁🙏

I can see why this sold immediately. Amazing work. Especially like how you left the centre vessel fairly detailed, but the background quite abstract with various blocks of colour. Keep up the good work @davidcheifetz :)

Thank you! 😊👊🏼 Will do!

oh this is briliant! amazing work with colors and structure!

Great painting as always. It's nice that you have a large space to setup your still life reference as well as good lighting....I'm jealous. Have fun with your kids!

Thank you and I will!

Dear Artist ! This post has been resteemed and upvoted from FineArtNow account ! Take a look at our latest posts : To Honor Old Masters , if you like them upvote , comment , resteem ! We very appreciate it ! See you soon !

Great thank you!🙏👍

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 62875.13
ETH 3030.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67