"The Flesh" (10x8 oil on panel) painting process

in #art6 years ago

Greetings,
Today's post features a lot of glowing in the darkness. And a lot of thick paint (applied with a knife).

still_life_214stagesteemitthumb.jpg

detail

The setup. My still life setups usually look extremely boring. Objects on a surface. Therein lies the challenge and excitement with still life. It's not what you paint, but how you paint it :

still_life_214stage00.jpg

First stage:

still_life_214stage01.jpg

Next stage:

still_life_214stage02.jpg

Next stage:

still_life_214stage03.jpg

Next stage:

still_life_214stage04.jpg

And the finished painting, "The Flesh" (10x8 oil on panel, 2013):

still_life_214stagefinal.jpg

Thanks for reading! -David

sigbanner.jpg

My Website

My Instagram

Sort:  

You certainly do bring a lot of life of life to your still life paintings. They aren't quite so "still" with all of the energy that you give them. How long does it take for you to paint something like this?

:) Thank you very much!

So much beautiful detail! The smoke rising from the urn is a nice touch. And those colors! It is like the slice of pumpkin is on fire. Thanks for sharing the set-up picture, being able to see before and after makes a difference.

Thank you! 😄

Really well done, I love how the bright warmth of your beginning slowly gets enveloped in the dark as your painting progresses and the final result is like a feeling; an emotion. Using the simple still life has really allowed you to emote in the paint and texture!

Thank you very much!! :)

Thank you for sharing your painting in progress! To paint the darkness is the challenge, it's drying fast and I'm wondering what medium did you use in your painting ?

It says in the title Oil on panel ...

I new it's an oil, but what the solvent was using to dilute the oil paint?

Thanks! The medium is Neo Megilp (Gamblin) and the solvent is Gamsol (mainly for cleaning).

Thank you! I hope you will have more votes, as your art is amazing!

Nice! Cool design :)

This! Very dramatic! good job👏

Fantastic! Love it. Upvoted, resteemed and followed.

Awesome, thank you!

These are great progress shots David. You must have had to take out a second mortgage just for paint right? ;D

haha ;) :D. I do love to use up nice paint...

While I was in Juliette's atelier, I was fortunate enough to take part in George O' Hanlon's and his wife's workshop. During one of the lectures/workshop they brought out a couple of products that their sole function was to utilize paint, or extend its use. Now I guess you could say in a way that they were kind of like impasto mediums, but they didn't alter the paint's body.

Have you or would you consider using something like this?

Never used anything like that, although I'd be curious! Interesting.

Yeah, I would think that if I were in your position it would be something worth looking into, while at the same time I'd be the first person to tell you that I believe it's best to keep painting as simple as possible as painting in and of itself is already difficult as it is you know? ;)

Totally agree 😁

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 70586.26
ETH 3763.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.79