Iron Man in Watercolor art.

in #art6 years ago

Hello beautiful people of steemit. In my presentation post (introducemyself) I mentioned one of the things that most passionate me is painting, so here I go!

Today I want to show you a paint I did a while ago and now thanks to this platform I have the opportunity to share.

Since MARVEL started its cinematic universe with the release of Iron Man in 2008, I've been delighted with all its movies (and I know there're a lot of people around here who love it too) and also with the role played so excellently by Robert Downey Jr. Without a doubt, he’s one of my favorite characters.

This "genius, eccentric, billionaire, playboy and philanthropist..." has captivated many people and in my case has served as inspiration to express my art.

First, I made a pencil sketch. This to avoid possible errors in the dimensions and in the distance between the elements of the face:

From there I began to make the lines starting with the right eye. I like Black & White style a lot, so I used black watercolor paint, which I diluted according to the gray scale tone that I needed.

Every time I draw/paint a face, I start with the eyes. I feel that a lot of the realism and vitality of a person are concentrated in the look when it is translated into a paper. Also, when I start any painting it's when I feel more serene and inspired, that allows me to have better results and considering that the area of the eyes is in many ways the most complex, it favors me to do it that way. It can be helpful like a tip, if you also like to draw/paint, hehe.

Having started by the mentioned place, I follow the sequence: nose, mouth, chin and from there to the periphery to complete the human half of the face. The rest was based on symmetrical gradients and in different directions necessary to achieve the metal effect of the superhero's armor.

And here it is almost finished. Retouching some details...

It is always prudent to observe carefully a paint/draw when we have "finished", because many times there are small details that can make a difference and we don't notice them because our eyes observe the everything and not specific places. That joined to the emotion of "I FINALLY TERMINATED IT", can make to overlook small errors that then come to light when it's observe by others.

Patience is the key.

We have to take the time necesary to finish a paint. We have to pay attention to details and remain relaxed, because in case of a paint, we can't erase to undo mistakes (advantage we have when we're drawing).

Here is the comparison with the original image:

Source of the original image.

I was happy with the result, but I remember that I can always improve, I hope so and that all of you can join me in the process.

Thanks for reading me, I send you a hug.

See you another time! And remember:

"Patience is the key and perseverance its sister."

Sort:  

Dear friend, you do not appear to be following @artzone. Follow @artzone and get added to our voting list for valuable up-votes!

Hi, sorry, I'm new posting in English, I've already followed you :D.

oh girl you work ugh it amazes me sometimes

Such a gringa person, i'm amaze.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61060.27
ETH 2927.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.55