I am making a game: 02 Magic Tails Update 2

in #art5 years ago (edited)

Hello again,
First I wanted to thank everyone again for all their support, you guys are awesome. Having people take interest in projects enough to reach out really helps motivate me. Any input is welcome engagement.

Today I am updating you guys on some game development stuff. I recently added a damage system so that the main playable character can take damage and get health pickups. To get a little nerdy what I did was create a float value that other objects can cast to. So the value of incoming damage is determined by said object. It also means I can put modifiers on the character to check if it has armor or elemental or other alignments/weaknesses.

magicTailsdamge.gif

Like I said in my last post, I am building this game for my daughters.
The general idea is they can have a top-level platformer with pin point action like in Castlevania or Metroid but with a much cuter and less menacing atmosphere. An interesting aspect of this project is that it would not be hard to create a very dark and metal version simply by changing some art assets.
I am building a template more than just a game.

Before I can do any of that I have to get the basics out of the way like moving platforms and keys that open doors. So it's convenient I just got user activated moving platforms working. When the player stands on them they move to their end location and when the player gets off them they return to their previous location. They are set up so they can work in 3d space and on a curve as well as ease in and out of the animation.

MagicTailsplatform.gif

I am looking for input on things people would like to see in this game. So if you have any ideas or questions leave a comment. I am looking for input. If you like this idea or want to play this game consider becoming a patron and getting access to a working build of this game right now.

Here is the first post on this project.

MayorAnimation.gif
Thank you for checking out this post. I make games and toys as well as write books and poetry. If you liked this post and want to see more of my work be sure to upvote and follow. If you want to check out what I am doing right now check out this video below.

VideoRightHere.png

Sort:  

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Deadsun from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61451.22
ETH 2929.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.65