Adventures of an Artist: Playing With Colors 🎨🖍

in #art6 years ago (edited)

Voila Steemians!

It's me again, Justin.
Arts has been my long time best friend and has been an outlet of releasing my emotions. It gives me comfort and ease in every way. It helps me in creating new worlds for me to venture.

As an artist, I always keep it to myself to never stop learning. I keep on playing arts out of my comfort zone. When once learning is acquired, I never stop on practicing until I perfect my craft.

Practice makes perfect. After a long time of practicing, our work will become natural, skillful, swift and steady.
-- Bruce Lee

COLORING - one of the challenges that I keep on facing when performing my craft. It may be funny to hear but yes, I am not good in playing with colors. I am still practicing on perfecting this metier. I would like to thank my friend, @mosheheart, for giving such a wonderful present. Yes it is, it's a coloring book.

OBRAcoloringBOOK

A Local Coloring Book published by a local publishing company, Sterling Paper Company , in the Philippines.

With the coloring book given to me and my set of Faber Castell Colour Pencils, I tried once more my luck on doing the "Art of Coloring".


The Process

Here are some photos that I had taken during my coloring session:

The Arkitektura Coloring book mostly focuses on abstract design. So, I really need to widen my imagination and incorporate it with bright but eye catching colors. A challenging piece of art to work with!

26132940_1187212584742271_469326267_o.jpg

First, I took focus on coloring the abstract sun as it is one of the main object of the line art based on my personal perspective. A combination of (from left to right) zinc yellow, lemon yellow, orange yellow, dark orange and cinabar light which I think perfectly fits on every layer of rays it needs. I played with radial gradient to elaborate the intensity of the abstract sun. The inner most has the finest concentration as the color depicts the hottest part of the sun (to make it more realistic). Then it gets hotter to look as the layer goes outside.

26102301_1187212514742278_837017128_o.jpg

Then, proceeded on the supporting parts of the line art. I tried playing with linear gradients so the art could be a little playful. On the left - side most and right - side most part of the line art, I was aiming of making a contradicting colors of towers. A versus of green and red hues.

26179072_1187212444742285_1795305265_o.jpg

Then to the support bar (really weird imagination). I created a horizontal gradient allowing the focus of light color will be on the center. I combined gold ochre, raw amber, burnt ochre, and nougat to create a woody appearance of the support bar.

26179570_1187588148038048_2006951371_o.jpg

As I continue on coloring the line art, I always took on the consideration on the effect of light rays to the parts of the line art. Radial gradients of browns and greens elaborates the effect of sun rays to the art. At first, I colored the vibrant colors of blue which is a mixture of dark magenta, blue violet, prussian blue, peacock blue, light phthalo blue, and light blue.

26107999_1187588224704707_2006107860_o.jpg

Then, I colored shades of green and brown to depict a modern - style pedestal. I really don't know why I picked shades of green but I find green a refreshing color. It gives a little rest on the intense colors on the other parts of the art.

26178946_1187479931382203_1743800502_o.jpg

This is the final colored output of the lineart.


26107822_1187600741370122_787901444_o.jpg


Points to Ponder

As an artist, one must be able to criticize and point out ones weaknesses to improve and nurture. Here are the areas that I think I need to work out:

  • Color Mixing
  • Proper color combinations
  • Basics of shading (dark to light application)
  • Harmonizing colors of different hues

In addition, reading related books and watching tutorials can be a plus to ensure perfect practice of the art.

Practicing in your craft helps you to be a better artist.


Merci for dropping by.

If you have questions and follow-ups, feel free to drop by the comment section I will try my very best to answer your queries.

follow-upvote.gif

Sort:  

Congratulations @deejee! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.12
JST 0.030
BTC 69681.57
ETH 3699.44
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.25