Progress of a Painting - "The Language of Creation" - Sound becomes Paint

in #art4 years ago




The Language of Creation

About a year ago, one of my collectors asked me to do a record cover for him. He wanted an image which depicts 'sound' in an abstract way. I was very curious about it, not knowing that this painting would become one of the toughest challenges of my career.

It took me nearly 10 months to complete this piece and I was close to giving up more than once. Recreating the beauty of sound, rhythm and melody in paint, proved to be a real mind boggler. In music the magic happens between the notes. Only the combination of them make the music. On their own, they have no meaning.

So, the task for me was to create a composition of abstract forms, which TOGETHER, create something bigger, something beyond their individual appearance. I wanted the painting to be more about the science behind sound and its vibrational nature, than to depict an actual, specific tune. My vision was a painting about possibilities, nothing fixed. An invitation for the viewer to connect the dots by himself and so, create his very own 'tune' out of the image.




The very first layer - Day One




After the first colors were applied...




...I started working on the form and composition




About two months into the piece...




...I lost myself into all these tiny details




"Visionary art encourages the development of our inner sight. To find the visionary realm, we use the intuitive inner eye. This visionary realm embraces the entire spectrum of imaginary spaces – from heaven to hell, from the infinitude of forms to formless voids." Joseph Nechvatal 


So here is the finished piece...



"The Language of Creation" | acrylic on canvas | 100cm x 170cm | 2020




Detail shot I




Detail shot II




Detail shot III




The 'melody' changes as you turn the piece




 

"Creativity is allowing yourself to make mistakes. Art is knowing which ones to keep."

scott adams 




I hope you guys enjoyed this little insight into my process and thoughts. I am happy for all comments and your own thoughts about this. Let creativity and compassion rule. We need both so much right now.



For more information about my art please visit konstantinbax.com



Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62804.06
ETH 2964.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.60