Why I Sketch on Vacation

in #art7 years ago

IMG_3170.jpg
Bora Bora, French Polynesia

Seeing Through Sketching

I almost never sketch unless I'm on vacation. I've kept sketchbooks since I was about 5 years old and over the years I've found that sketching has always been therapeutic and extremely rewarding. When experiencing a new place, one of the things I enjoy most is to find a great view, sit down and try to document it quickly with a sketch. It's a very personal way of experiencing a place and taking it all in. The act of simply attempting to sketch forces the sketcher to observe and become aware of the smallest details. When you're sketching, the unique aspects of what you're looking at are sometimes hidden until you give them the time to be seen.

IMG_3164.jpg
San Gimignano, Italy

IMG_3165.jpg
San Gimignano, Italy

IMG_3166.jpg
Ponte Vecchio, Florence, Italy

IMG_3163.jpg
Lake Garda, Italy

IMG_3178.jpg
Little Palm Island, Florida

There's No Messing Up

I only use pen because it usually forces a loose and gestural approach to the sketch. I also think that using a pen eliminates the idea of a perfect drawing and the feeling of "messing up" because you have to accept that there are no mistakes when sketching. The sketch is a way for you to experience the place you're looking at in a new way. It isn't necessarily meant to be a final piece of art, but if you end up with one, that's great. Some of my favorite parts of my sketches are when I "mess up" or an accident happens that makes me realize I've incorrectly represented something. It usually points out something that I hadn't quite seen the right way initially and the drawing reveals it to me.

Cape-Elizabeth-Lighthouse-18x24.jpg
Cape Elizabeth Lighthouse, Maine

When sketching the lighthouse at Port Elizabeth in Maine a huge gust of wind lifted my paper right into my pen as I was trying to pull the pen away as to not ruin the drawing. The result is a giant strange pen mark in the sky area of the drawing, which to this day reminds me of what it felt like to be there sketching this awesome view. Think of it as a beauty mark.

Focus On the Important Elements

Sometimes I like to set a time limit to complete a sketch. This forces me to represent only the most important or unique aspects of what I'm looking at, whether is shadows of palm trees or the roof tiles of houses in Tuscany. Depending on what I'm attempting to capture I'll sometimes say two minutes, one minute or even 15 seconds to finish the sketch.

Lake-Quinault-Cabin-18x24-no-signature-forweb.jpg
Lake Quinault, Washington

Then there are the sketches that should probably be called drawings. These are the creations that can, in no way, capture the essence of the place without some serious time and detail. A prime example of this is a sketch I did at Martha's Vineyard a couple years ago. The longest sketch I had ever done prior to the Martha's Vineyard drawing was of my family cabin at Lake Quinault in Washington State (seen above), which took a full hour. The Martha's Vineyard drawing took about 2 hours and 15 minutes with the occasional interruption of someone passing by to chat about drawing or art or what I do for a living. You'd be surprised by how many people stop to talk and stand right in front of the thing you're trying to draw without realizing that they're completely disrupting the process. This is one of the many obstacles to drawing in public. Part of the reason that this particular drawing took so long was because the paper was gigantic. I'm used to a little (maybe 6" wide) Moleskine sketchbook, but the paper that I used for the Martha's Vineyard drawing was 24" wide. Yikes.

IMG_3181.jpg
Martha's Vineyard, Massachusetts

IMG_3182.jpg
Martha's Vineyard, Massachusetts

Montepulciano-Well-18x24-no-signature-forweb.jpg
Montepulciano, Italy

Process is Important

I typically try to approach each sketch with a few big lines to map out the larger elements of the scene in order to create a general structure of the sketch. This may be a long horizontal line that you can see in the distance or a vanishing point, which is where all of the lines seem to converge in perspective. You can see how the horizontal elements of the buildings and the pier all lead towards one point in this sketch of Newport, Rhode Island (seen below) in the early phases. This creates the overall perspective that the rest of the drawing is based on. Establishing the perspective and general sizing of the elements is key in the early stages of any sketch. Think big picture before the details. Try to plan out the drawing mentally so that you know you can fit everything that you want on the page and plan the composition of what you'll draw to be appealing when complete.

IMG_3175.jpg
Part 1 - Newport, Rhode Island

IMG_3176.jpg
Part 2 - Newport, Rhode Island

IMG_3177 copy.jpg
Part 3 - Newport, Rhode Island

IMG_3173.jpg
Final - Newport, Rhode Island

IMG_3174.jpg
Context Photo - Newport, Rhode Island

Making Art Out of Sketches

Instead of keeping a bunch of sketches from a 2013 trip to Europe in a drawer, my wife came up with the idea of combining all of the little pages into larger frames to hang on the wall. I thought this was a great idea because I usually only see the sketches once every year or two and sometimes not for a lot longer than that. It's a nice way to bring back memories of a trip and certain places.

framed-europe-sketches.jpg
Framed Sketches from Europe

all-sketches-europe.jpg

Here are a few more images, just for fun..

FullSizeRender.jpg
Ponte Vecchio, Florence, Italy

IMG_3168.jpg
San Gimignano, Italy

IMG_3170.jpg
Bora Bora, French Polynesia

IMG_3171.jpg
Bora Bora, French Polynesia

IMG_3172.jpg
Boothbay Harbor, Maine

IMG_3179.jpg
Soho House, Los Angeles, California

IMG_3180.jpg
Soho House, New York, New York

IMG_3184.jpg
Martha's Vineyard, Massachusetts

IMG_3185.JPG
Getty Villa, Los Angeles, California

Boothbay-Harbor-18x24-no-signature-forweb.jpg
Boothbay Harbor, Maine

Marthas-Vineyard5.jpg
Martha's Vineyard, Massachusetts

Medieval-Street-18x24-no-signature-forweb.jpg
Tuscany, Italy

Pantheon-18x24-forweb.jpg
The Pantheon, Rome, Italy

River Valley scan.jpg
Lake Quinault, Washington

Soho Grand Street Drawing 22x15 realistic.jpg
Grand Street, New York, New York

Tuscan-Rooftops-18x24-no-signature-forweb.jpg
Tuscany, Italy

Give Sketching a Shot

Overall, I highly suggest sketching to anyone who is even remotely interested in giving it a shot. Even if you have no artistic or creative ability, I urge you to take out a pen and paper next time you're somewhere new and I'm almost certain you'll see some things you never would have otherwise. I hope you enjoyed some of my personal sketches. Please reach out if you give sketching a shot and let me know how it goes!

Ciao for now, Steemians.

- Weston (aka @design-guy)

follow-design-guy.gif

Sort:  

I like it a lot, and had a great time around the world

Oh yes @sanja.janev I love traveling more than almost anything!

Lovely, though, quite long post.

Thanks. Lots of sketches to show.

Nice! Resteemed at the SGoA ;)
post card1.png

Awesome! thanks @sgoa

Nice sketches, some of them are quite big. Have you given a tought of adding a splash of colour onto them? I used to do similar sketches with watercolour wash and black ink.

Hey @andraskalmar-art - Yeah, I've tried out watercolors a little bit, but I usually end up with just a light wash of color rather than getting detailed. Sometimes it makes the ink on the paper bleed a little, which either looks good or ruins it. I think sketching with oil pastels is fun too. They can get a little messy though..

Awesome to see these all in one place. It would great to see a timelapse or breakdown of a future sketch in a future post!

Thanks @hansikhouse I've actually created a few videos in the past. One using a digital pad that records the tracking of the pen seen here - https://www.instagram.com/p/BPDhhich2sl/?taken-by=westonbaker

I've done a couple videos of actual drawing also, but can't seem to find them right now. I'll just have to do a new one soon ;)

great sketches! it is not a long time ago I made a post like this about my drawings wrom vacation in Grece..... they are not as good as yours, I used only pencil, but you inspired me for the next time :)

https://steemit.com/travel/@marty-arts/holiday-without-sketchbook-never-thassos-greece

Awesome! Definitely give pen a shot and just feel free to make mistakes. Let me know how it goes.

Great work my friend !
Perfect combination of art and skill !!
👍👍👍👍

Oh, thank you very much @akkha ! I appreciate that.

You are welcome !

These are insane, nice skill.
Did these took long to make?

Thanks @yournews ! Some of them take as long as 2 hours, others are as fast as 5 mins. I'd say most are around 20 minutes total.

Congratulations @design-guy! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61763.08
ETH 2899.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.49