Art Talk: What Am I Currently Working On?

in #art6 years ago (edited)

Aside from coming up with a better title, I'm currently in the process of getting a few projects underway and I wanted to share them with you guys! And it always helps (me at least) to write my goals down and get a better, more thought out feel for what I'm up against.

My main goal is to become a tattooer and the route I chose is to self-teach. I know this route is frowned upon, I know this route is more difficult. But it's something I am really passionate about and I know my drive and dedication to the practice will guide me through all my mistakes and help me become a better tattooer as well. So for a while, I am focusing on learning my machines and how they work, how to tune them and how to know when something is wrong with them. Eventually I would like to move on to rotary machines simply because I like how quiet and light they appear to be, but I think it's better to start with the basic coil machine and get to know the basis before I go full on 2.0.

I'm also not taking commissions for my art at the moment and instead focusing on creating my own pieces to expand on my own style. That's something I kept telling myself I would do and now I'm getting around to it. It's freeing, but it is a bit of a financial cut. Right now I'm working on color pencil portraits with dismembered hands (cuz that's my thing). Here are a few examples!!
IMG_4955.JPG
IMG_4960.JPG
IMG_4968.JPG
And I'm working on another one as we speak! I might provide a video for the process later, stay tuned for that!

And lastly (as far as my art stuff goes) I am constantly thinking about CREATE SPACE, an art party my boyfriend and I are hosting in which artists in our area can come together in a nonjudgmental, nonexpectational environment and create what they want. Even if you're not an artist and you just want to be around other artists, that's what I want this event to be about. Just being surrounded by creative energy. I talk a little bit more about it in this video as well:

So there are quite a bit of things I am doing and I'm so happy to stay busy! Of course there's also the focus on making vlogs and posting to Steemit, but I think those things will come naturally.

Thank you for reading and wanting to be a part of my process! I hope to keep sharing with you guys :)

Sort:  

I like your ideas with the arms and bodies, it's a tough road and it can be a lot more difficult for the self taught. Get to know your machines (there's some great online videos) and don't jump straight into tattooing friends and family.
Make sure you see your art progressing, get the theory down, learn about how to work hygienically and the dangers of tattooing and blood borne pathogens.
Learn your needle groupings and consider how you'd use them to achieve what you achieve with pencils.

Start on fruit like grapefruits or fake latex skin to get a feel for the machine. Lastly get tattooed and take it all in or visit a tattoo convention nearby, learn from watching the process, above all have integrity and realise the permanence of the job.

Good luck

thank you for the advice, seriously. ive only ever seen discouraging comments toward people who want to self teach tattooing. it's nice to hear some encouraging, practical advice from someone who's already in the practice

Some of the best people in the business were self taught, obviously it's not the preferred method or route to go because you could learn bad habits but if there's no alternative and you have the drive to do it and do it as responsibly as possible I think everyone is entitled to their dreams.

A real truth. Thank you again, so much, for your input!

If I was a bit more manly and not afraid of needles, I'd let you tattoo me. Either of those changing might take a while.

Thanks for sharing , great drawings.

maybe by the time i start tattooing you'll have changed your mind!😂 thank you so much!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 65992.78
ETH 3014.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75