A Polar Bear's Tea Party

in #art6 years ago (edited)

In the world of my creation we have again some normal enemies as happy friends. As I stated in yesterday's post, we artists are allowed to create the world as we see fit. Thus today I have normal tundra enemies, such as the polar bear, arctic fox, and the seal, as happy compatriots.

nov26done.jpg

I imagined their little world thus:

"Polar bear began to realize she may have accidentally served herbal tea, as her guests were beginning to nod off. What was a hostess to do?"

As is usual for these type of pieces I begin with a rough pencil sketch.

nov26sketch1.jpg

I might tighten it up, then ink it before coloring, but in this case I played with some color first.

nov26sketch2.jpg

Here is this section you can see where I begin to erase pencil lines and start inking a more definitive image. I then go over it again, after ink, to add more watercolor, in this case. I often use oil pastels but sometimes like the dreamy quality of water.

nov26sketch3.jpg

I hope you enjoy it and that your day is filled with tea parties and treats. Let's hope you don't get slipped herbal tea by mistake, unless you are looking to slumber away your day; which doesn't sound half bad.

Sort:  

Great art!

Thank you so much :)

So beautiful! 🎨

So kind, thanks.

really enjoy that

Congratulations @donnadavisart! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published a post every day of the week

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Really beautiful and uplifting :-) Is it digital? Very nice how you explain individual steps and how one can follow you from the rough idea to the finished artwork.

Thank you, the initial sketch was pencil then scanned then digital water color then ink. I used to be primarily a print maker but moved digital a year ago so when I travel I can take my 'studio' with me :)

Digital definitely has some advantages, particularly the fact, that you can have your whole studio in a portable device.

Always wanted to get into print making, even have a decent printing press for etchings, just never get around to using it more to get better at it..

Love it! :D

Thank you so much.

How to keep warm and fuzzy on a winter polar night.

Very true, hot tea on a cold iceberg ;)

This is super cute!

A beautiful creation , warm and kind ,
Thanks for sharing steps

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60918.56
ETH 2919.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.56