Dog in a chair, American Thanksgiving in England and my first bus trip into town.

in #art5 years ago (edited)

From my series Animals in chairs

nov24thumnail.jpg

The entire piece:
nov24dog.jpg

I haven't been able to make a new piece yesterday and today I was off trying out the buses, so I figured I'd share a popular piece from my series 'animals in chairs'.

And as this is a busy buying season for Christmas it's always good to look at things that have done well in the past.

With monday being 'cyber monday' we artists who do sell online have to consider such things. Though I am hopeless behind in such matters this year, as my partial move to England has taken up far more of my time than really considered.

As my home here now in England is shared with my two dear friends, one of whom is also an American, we decided why not have a Thanksgiving of sorts. I wasn't bothered one way or the other, but when all was said and done, it was such a nice day.

We wanted to get a naturally raised local turkey, but they are not really available until closer to Christmas.

My suggestion was then to use some local game, which is so easy to come by this time of the year in the English countryside. I decided on pheasant out of our various choices of partridge, quail, pigeon, duck, and goose.

Here we see a little photo montage I made of it.

nov24thanksgiving.jpg

We are very lucky with our weather here in South East England. Though it was considered 'cold' by the locals that day, to me it felt like New England Spring April, so I was out in my shirtsleeves in the garden with Ivan the dog cutting fresh herbs from our lush green herb garden.

I pan seared the birds for about 5 min on all sides just to really seal in the juices.

Pheasant can be dry if not done properly, so on top of the searing I well oiled it in olive oil and of course streaky bacon just for good measure.

I also pan friend the veg and herbs first in butter to prepare them for roasting with the birds. This also gave a good flavour to the birds, as I did that prior to searing them.

They turned out lovely and juicy and a fine time was had by all.

We were a small party of just five, but two of our guests were new local friends, also expats. One from Turkey and the other Germany, but both have called England their home for some years.

We were also happy that our table (antique but just won at auction) was in place in time for dinner. We have first been living in an empty house and now one with furniture wrapped and boxes full of possesion, but it still feels very like a home.

Now, I have been SO busy with all the things it takes to set up a new home in a new country that I have not even tried out the bus as of yet.

I decided today would be that day and we are lucky as we live on the High in a little village just outside of the small city of Canterbury.

The bus ride was SO quick only 10 minutes.
nov24trip1.jpg

I was happy to see we do get double decker buses even for this short trip, though I didn't sit up top, which was foolish as it would be good for photo ops. However, I shall be on the bus rather frequently so no worries about that.

Canterbury High street is getting festooned for the coming Christmas season and little huts selling wares have been set up.
nov24trip2.jpg

I love the Christmas season and am overjoyed that in the cafe they are playing Christmas music mixed with Jazz standards

I've settled into Cafe Nero, as I do like them overall, their coffee being quite good and this one here on the High in Canterbury is three floors of great space to drink coffee and work.
nov24trip3.jpg

It is a lovely old building.

nov24trip5.jpg

And I've nabbed a good spot by the windows, despite it being a busy Satruday. But, they do say the early bird gets the worm and I am definitely an 'early bird'.
nov24trip4.jpg

You can just see the Christmas lights outside the window, as it is a grey day today.

nov24trip6.jpg

However, I don't mind the weather at all. And yesterday it was almost 60 F here and sunny all day. Ivan and I spent a good deal of the time in our garden and went for a lovely afternoon walk. While I had a weather report from Toad Hall back home that is was below freezing, so I cannot complain.

The English weather just suits me.

Particularly the south. The mix of cloudy day and sun and rain and mist are really just the sort of changeable things that rather keep my mood even. I might actually suffer 'seasonal effictiveness disorder' more if I were suffered to 80F temps and sun non stop every day.

It's funny how there are places all round the world that can suit a persons desires for weather.

I don't even mind that the days are so short here, as we've such a lovely little snug village home that you look forward to coming home to snuggle away in a favourite chair ( which I recently bought here )

My next adventures are going to include getting the trains down. It is either a 50 to one hour fast train ride into London, or a slower 2 hour train ride into London. I am going to try both and see which I prefer, as I have heard the slow train is quite comfortable, with good wifi, and I could see myself getting some work done and reading on the train into the city.

I have yet to decide how much time I wish to spend in London.

I'm torn between a week a month solid or simply going more frequently through the week, giving myself weekends staying put in our village. We shall see.

For now, I shall close here.

I am anxious to go out amongst all the shops and see what wonderful things are on display for Christmas and maybe browse the bookstore. I've got to get some sketching done as well, so I should do that before heading out of my comfortable seat here in the cafe.

I hope you all are having a lovely Saturday and enjoying some creative time no matter where you are.

Check out my other posts, if you like, and by all means upvote, resteem and yes leave comments!

Copyright @donnadavisart - All Rights Reserved

Footer_donnadavisart.png


asteemitfooter.jpg

Sort:  

Sounds like you are really enjoying England. Love the dog in the armchair.

So happy that you're enjoying yourself over there! Sounds like a super-fun trip! I just love that picture of Canterbury High Street, it's so...Christmas-y, makes me want to go there <3 And Cafe Nero...my love....I think that's the first place I went to when I first went to the UK and it has a real special place in my heart (so your picture made me smile a lot!).

Have fun, take care <3

You seem to be getting more and more comfortable over there :).
                       
And the picture that you drew is hilarious, I am really amused at how the doggo sat on that chair.

Thank you, this was made back when I did an entire series of animals in chairs. I figured I would share it, as I like to include a piece of my art in each post.

Tomorrow is cyber-Monday so I am a bit behind in getting things up. I wish Steemit had like old Blogger had ,where in you could have your favourite posts or popular posts on the side and clickable, maybe some day?

looks delish! love the 2 dog in chair drawings I've seen...the way you have line containing the loose watercolor style is very appealing to me.
Such a nice English life you're having, thanks for sharing it, I'm enjoying seeing the snippets xooxox

seems you had a beautiful day , the window where you sat in the cafe reminds me of a day ... nice and cute art Donna <3

Thank you, I am trying to settle in and get into some sort of routine, but it is a bit hard when there are so many things to setting things up. :)

I'm having fun, though.

You have not just a life, but a whole adventure : )

Congratulations @donnadavisart! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 25000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 30000 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Meet the Steemians Contest - The results, the winners and the prizes
Meet the Steemians Contest - Special attendees revealed

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

amazingly beautiful drawing ❤ I love your photography and also artwork. your water color style is very awesome. i always love the colors you chose.

Charming Dog in the armchair! And you can see that you're enjoying it there! that you keep having beautiful days

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60625.76
ETH 2898.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.62