You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: A Welcome Project, Firebox Tiles in Sage Green

in #art5 years ago

Firstly WOW you created and hold the patent on that! Amazing. I'd say that level of creativity and ingenuity gives you a 'free ride' ticket for the rest of life. You can ride on those laurels and just consider all your other work as icing on the cake! Well done you.

I LOVE tiled fireplaces! I love ceramics and tiles in general. Some of my favourites are the Pewabic tiles of Michigan. The tiles were and are so beautiful and the movement was pretty cool. My grandparents used to own an amazing house in Detroit back before the riots in the 60's and only sold that place shortly thereafter, but they had fireplaces with such tiles in and they are so striking!

Well, as you know, I'm sort of in a forced meditative state with my own creation having to give up part of my day to things outside my own normal studio time. Yet, it is all life and change is part of that.

With that change and rumination we can either embrace the inevitability of it or feel controlled by it. I know we are smart enough to see it as a learning time and know that with the change will come a new greater way of being and creating at the other end of it.

Also, not sure your age, but there is that 7 year system we are all meant to feel. If you are at the beginning or end of that 7 year, that also is sometimes telling.

Have fun with your tiles. This is exactly how I feel with my black and white drawings/artwork :)

Sort:  

Very interesting that your b&w drawings feel this way! I agree with your insights about times of change and the natural flow of rumination.

And I laughed out loud when I read -
"I'd say that level of creativity and ingenuity gives you a 'free ride' ticket for the rest of life."
I haven't ever really considered these tiles much of an accomplishment but now I'm going to reconsider that stance!!
I too LOVE tiles and can get excited even about the most simple tiles with beautiful glazes and Pewabic pottery certainly made so many gorgeous and timeless tiles, they are worthy of praise.

I hope your experience in this in-between zone winds up being fruitful on many levels and so far it seems like it has been, and thanks for your friendship :-))

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62025.59
ETH 3074.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84