You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: ✏️ Learning to draw like the Masters - working with "my" Kids on a Bargue Plate

in #art6 years ago

I can see your heart and good spirit in your artwork. I think one of the reasons I was so drawn into your imagery was it seemed to tell of the maker's open mind and giving quality and it sure appears that is the truth.

What an amazing and noble thing you are doing. I think art and expression is just what children need, but children in such dire situations or with so much adult responsibility, what a wonderful chance for them to take themselves out of the world they are currently forced to be living in.

I saw one commentor below begin to suggest how you should or should not do this or that, but in all honesty, you are a giving person and your very act of being open to these children is already a boon to their lives. To even be asked what they love or how they would like to express what they care about does open up a new world to them; one that might not come to them right now, but when they are older, they will recall it and it will be a little window of hope in their dark moments.

Keep up your good works and I am proud to know you as an artist and as a human being. Well done sir.

Sort:  

Thank you so much for your kind words. I don't think I am doing anything special. I was just incredibly lucky to have really really good parents I want to share some of that feeling with others less fortunate.

You know, its funny that you talk about asking the kids about what they love or enjoy. I do that regularly and they usually can't think of anything right away. Quite different of when you ask them what they hate! One of the most shocking I found, that they could not tell a wish, when I asked them. I mean ask any teenage kid you know, if there is anything they want or they'd like to have... These children here are like... pfffft... "I'm not gonna have it anyways, so why waste a single thought on it" ....!!!! We spent a long time on that issue, because I think one should in fact have some wishes, as they give you direction and might get you going. Depending on the wish of course. Now, the average teenager here would want the newest iphone, certain clothes, trips to exotic places, you name it... I have a 13 year old who wants to get her life in order. Children longing for a happy family, friendship and love! One boy, he has Asperger syndrome dreams of being a bus driver!

In some ways I feel bad for the current young generation in most places because they are such a controlled class of people. And when you ask what their 'wish' is the fact that they will most say the same wish simply tells you that that little box they stare into all day and text on is a little mind control device telling them what their wishes, hopes and dreams should be and they almost always involve things that are expensive and just a bit out of reach.

I wish sometimes more simple attainable wishes would be uppermost in the mind of the young, which I am sure it is for some, but I do honestly feel like it's a very controlled generation and in our country they are coming of age in a time when they cannot afford housing, there are very few jobs and education in our country is ridiculously overpriced and yet they are all sold loans larger than the price of homes to go to university.

Oh well, we can't change the world I suppose. Maybe it's one of the reasons we artists are lucky we get to paint a new world and get lost in it :)

I do think you are doing good work with these kids, so keep it up!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64160.97
ETH 3145.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86