Client Work - Character design and animations for Bravo

in #art6 years ago (edited)

e7f9c4fb8e2e95bc7a24faea_rw_1920.png

Bravo Character design and animation process

I thought it might be neat to walk through my process on creating some character designs and animations I was commissioned to do for a company called Bravo, so here we go!

divider.jpg

The Sketch
The initial design brief called for a few different characters, a gorilla, a lobster and a pineapple! I got to sketching out some concepts, and thankfully the initial designs were accepted, and I was able to move on with the design process. This isn't always the case, most projects will have some back and forth during the concept phase until the client is happy with the direction.

57c913e8f14ecbec387f75fd_rw_1920.jpg

Refining the sketch
The next step was to take these sketches in to Adobe Illustrator, where I then refined the character designs and began adding color. It's really neat to see the concepts start to take form and Illustrator makes it very easy to refine and modify the shapes of each character. The refined illustrations were then sent to the client, and after a few color tweaks and minor adjustments, the designs were ready to be animated.

e7f9c4fb8e2e95bc7a24faea_rw_1920.png

Animation!
The animations needed to be exported as looping GIFs, so I had to keep that in mind when setting out to create the motion for these characters. They needed to be interesting, but couldn't be too long. I began by separating the moveable parts of each character in Illustrator, then importing these pieces in to Adobe After Effects, where I then rigged up the characters. For the most part, this involves moving pivot points and parenting things like the head to the body, arms to the body, hands to the arms, etc.

I then began roughing out the motion, thinking about some key poses I wanted each character to hit. Using keyframe easing, rotating elements and moving elements, I was then able to create the following animations.

a1bbf12c31ff19bc3054347f_rw_1200.gif

101cdd3cc5709b12c0ad35cc_rw_1200.gif

d06a503ff6ff1916d7df43c1_rw_1200.gif

I then had to save out various sized GIFs, each of which had different background colors.

I really enjoyed working on this project, and I hope you enjoyed seeing the process. Feel free to leave any comments or questions you have for me in the comments section!

Sort:  

Your post has been upvoted & resteemed by the Steem Artists

Thankyou for being a part of this amazing group!

This is so cuute! I like the pineapple with that one tooth sticking out. The way he bounces without legs is so adorablee :>

really cool!! The animation is so smooth and the characters are sooo friendly!!!

Your animations are very cool !
Personally I like the sketches style, they look like the drawings we can sometimes see when artists are trying to create new characters for an animation film ^^

Fantastic work! The characters are adorable. I especially love the pineapple. :)

Upvoted on behalf of @thehumanbot and it's allies for writing this great original content. Do not use bid bots for at least 1-2 days, as your post may get picked up by top curators.
Great Original Works are rewarded by top Curators, refer posts from my Step-Brother @humanbot for more details.If you like this initiative, you can follow me in SteemAuto and upvote the posts, that I upvote.
And remember to do some charity when you are rich by contributing to me. Check out my Introduction Post for more details. If you have any concerns or feedback with my way of operation, raise it with @sanmi , my operator who is freaking in Steemit chat or discord most of the time.

Congratulations @drawsgood! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

These are so great! I'm definitely going to have to keep an eye on you... I add gifs to my posts all the time, and would love to source these to help drive people to your superamazing gifs!

ohmegosh these are precious. ♡ full of colour and happiness ♡

really cool, thank you for walking us through your process.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 69611.14
ETH 3805.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.82