Kai guang - Opening of Light

in #art7 years ago (edited)

Inspiration

"It’s a beautiful contagion that passes through individuals. The word itself comes from the Latin inspirare, meaning “to breath into” - has a tendency to raise the sense of possibility in others - Then the one who is inspired performs his own feats and inspires others, and so on down the line." - Unknown

The design was inspired by a kaiguang amulet given to me as a gift. At the time a had no idea what it was but upon doing some research I learned a bit of information that I documented as I build this glyph.

A kai guang amulet is a piece of jewelry with religious or spiritual significance in the Taoist or Buddhist folk religion of China. The religion can be called Pure Land Buddhism or Folk Taoism. A ritual called kai guang, or opening the light, is performed on the amulet. This ritual is the same as, or similar to, the ritual used to consecrate the statue of a deity in a Taoist or Buddhist temple. Once this is done, the belief is that the energy of that deity resides in the amulet, and the amulet will bring the kind of good fortune appropriate to the divine being.

Don't work to hard out there steempeeps, figured I'd convert that amulet into a different style. Peace be with you.

- Druid Cruize

Sort:  

Congratulations @druidcruize! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received
Award for the number of comments received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

I am loving this post! I teach tai chi, and work with energy, I'm also new to the steemit community. I have to say I'm beyond excited to see another being putting love & light out into the world! Wonderful post @druidcruize!!!

Thanks @jadae! I'll keep em' coming!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60837.81
ETH 2874.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.62