My love for ye olde pencil and paper has not died yet

in #art6 years ago

One of the nigh-forgotten facts about me, even by myself, is that when I was young - circa primary school and early secondary school, I aspired to be a mangaka (Japanese for comic artist). It was all I wanted to do, the sole career choice that made sense to me at that time. I would be a mangaka and nothing else. Which is why during those years I do alot of sketching, often to my parent's chagrin as they feel that my time spent on this "hobby" was better spent elsewhere.

Eventually I found another outlet for my creative urges in the form of digital animation and outgrew my passion for mangas. I also sketch a lot less since then, although I would often keep a sketch pad handy for whenever I need a quick fix to draw something because computers don't work as fast as my hand.

My latest 3-minute random sketch:

Being able to draw with pencil on paper is a significant advantage when working with visual media. I can quickly draw out character poses and lay out scenes on paper so I can visually evaluate them before committing them into the software. It helps make me a more efficient artist, instead of bashing buttons on the computer and see what sticks.

Admittedly, my sketching skills has kind of regressed compared to my years spent pursuing the mangaka dream, but I try to practice more by finding time to sit down and do some serious sketching. If I can't, then a quick sketch like above is usually enough to scratch that itch.

Below is another ad-hoc sketch on my son's Magna-doodle which I did to see if my 2.5 yr old son can tell which one is mommy, daddy and himself lol.


Sort:  

Hi @dxn! It was interesting reading about how you aspired to be mangaka as a child and then eventually moved into digital animation.

I like the display of complex emotions evident on the face of the character drawn by you - it seems to have a sombre, angry and contemplative look on it's face. It is as if he is pondering over some sort of a vengeance.

Thanks for sharing.

Thanks for reading. Angry looking chracters are my specialty haha

An interesting story, dreams must be fulfilled and you can not allow someone to stop your goal. your son is 2.5 years old and draws nicely. Good luck in what you do!

Oh no no my son didn't draw that, I meant I drew that to show my kid and see if he can tell who is who lol

Sorry for the confusion!

Thank you for sharing your posts with us. This post was curated by TeamMalaysia as part of our community support. Looking forward for more posts from you.

To support the growth of TeamMalaysia Follow our upvotes by using steemauto.com and follow trail of @myach

Vote TeamMalaysia witness bitrocker2020 using this link vote bitrocker2020 witness

I'm so jealous of people who can draw as nice as you've shown here. I've tried so many times, but I'm just not good at it. Really appreciate you showing your work here.

It takes years and years of practice to be any good, and I'm not really that good though.

If you are really keen to learn, start sketching simple objects around you, read some online sketching tips and tutorials or take an art class.

Thanks for reading!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64386.10
ETH 3142.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98