Fun With Scrap 2.0

in #art6 years ago

Of course when i should be doing one thing , the "bug" hits me .. Just that small idea and feeling to create. To build something from nothing using , in my case reclaimed cutlery.
2018-02-28 14.51.27.jpg
Just some old spoons and forks.

Trimmed the handles off with a 4.5inch grinder and a 1/8th cutting wheel.
2018-02-28 14.52.17.jpg
Ready to shape.

2018-02-28 14.59.24.jpg
Front legs bent and welded.

2018-02-28 15.01.03.jpg
And more legs....

2018-02-28 15.13.03.jpg
How many legs ?

Welding each leg after bending by hand. Then adjusting each leg.

2018-02-28 15.17.09.jpg
Welding the abdomen, she is starting to come together.

2018-02-28 15.22.13.jpg
What EVERY spider needs.... FANGS ....

2018-02-28 15.25.23.jpg
Last but not least ... EYES to see prey.

This new little guy was made for someone who has a thing for spiders. Its awaiting a new home and a name.
All the cutlery was reclaimed , hand bent and welded with a Lincoln wire feed welder.
If you enjoy my work , please .....
Steempower.jpg

Sort:  

Dude this is an awesome Spider! I love these little guys!

You should try using a landscape pic as your first pic in steemit blogs, otherwise it get's cut off by the thumbnail size or something. Also show us the spider in the thumbnail. I feel like more ppl would want to see this had they know it wasn't a bunch of old spoons lol ;)

Another idea is to make a dtube video of you doing one of these or a welding porject and just speed it up or make it less than 5 minutes etc.

You could probably start doing a dope welding series or something like that "Metal Works on the Steemit Blockchain"

I see what you are saying. Makes total sense. A short video would be great. I'll need to set up a stand for my phone and then just do some basic editing. Thanks for the input. Always appreciated.

Ya man i think that’d be huge.

Especially if u start a dtube series of sorts.

I still think “Metal works on the Steem Blockchain” or something along thoae lines would be a good title.

Particularly adding the “on the steem blockchain part” mite yeild some results

You are welcome to introduce your spider into the Steemit Art Gallery !
https://steemit.com/art/@chrisaiki/steemit-art-gallery-show-your-art-week-17

Very cool little spider! When I get hone I'll find you a photo of the one I made from left over elecrtical brackets for the subway lines in NYC...

This reminded me of @alain-bellino, check him out I think you may like his work

FB_IMG_1520976612455.jpg

Happy Halloween!

Very cool. Check back as I'll be doing a blog on some of the things I've made for my pickup truck. Yes spider related.

Will do will do. I'm following you. Thanks!

Excellent work and re purpose.

If you know anyone else thats into maker crafter type stuff that I could follow could you let me know please.

Thanks 😊. Have a look at the last post he has done some repurposed art too. Stay tuned for lots more cool sculptures. And some videos.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 66306.00
ETH 3012.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.70