EVA Unit 01

in #art5 years ago

eva.jpg
This is an older drawing but one of my favorites even if I think the colors look a little saturated. You can see the process gif at the bottom of this post. The drawing was rendered with markers and colored digitally.

Sometimes I wonder about the longevity of things. One of the qualities of any work is how long it remains relevant although that's a little bit of a double edged sword; a work that can't help be but shout its place and time has its own merits. When thinking about the longevity of some anime, I think about the landmark works. Akira, Ghost in the Shell, Princess Mononoke, Cowboy Bebop.

Evangelion is up there, of course. But in the states, it hasn't been legally available for some time, and I wonder if it's notoriety hasnt in some ways actually benefited from its own scarcity. Sometimes popularity increases when access is reduced. For a long time, you couldn't just find it at your local Best Buy or get it on Amazon for a decent price. In the age of immediate access, an element of hard-to-get may have actually helped Evangelion stand out.

I rewatched Evangelion recently. I was coming down from the high of watching Devilman Crybaby for the first time and I couldn't help but see some of the parallels between the works. Oh this is where Evangelion gets that from I thought on a handful of occasions. In some ways, Evangelion looked derivative of original Devilman.

Which isn't a knock against the series. Every work is seeded from other works. Evangelion's often meme'd end is almost a carbon copy of Devilman. However, Evangelion's core story is about depression and alienation. Devilman's protagonist is emotionally driven to act while Evangelion's protagonist collapses under his own emotions.

Admittedly, Evangelion has one of the greatest visual identities I can think of for an anime. It's sleek, gross, violent. Yuasa's treatment may have hyper stylish animation but it doesn't make everyone stand up and say 'woah' like Evangelion's crisp and detailed movements.

When Evangelion finally makes it to Netflix some time this year, I'll rewatch it and maybe I'll get something different from it than I did before. Maybe I'll rewatch Devilman Crybaby too if my heart can take it.

ezgif-2-a94a072e7524.gif

Sort:  

This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Yeah this is awesome and not too saturated at all. The colour purple, red, and white lighting are clashing and dynamic, exactly like how Eva should be. You captured the beast perfectly well and she's a major badass :).

Great artwok you have here :) loved the result
this post will be proposed to be curated by the @celfmagazine project

Go to the robot, Shinji!!! ;D
So cool eva, oh man!

I loved Eva, and you know I love Devilman Crybaby also :D And yes, things influence each other in this world, and this is how we echo each other's inspirations and souls (for lack of better words)

Love the pose for your piccar here, she looks absolutely ready to tear into action * ___ *

Eva is coming to Netflix??? EXCELLENT. Tis almost time for a rewatch for me, also :D

I can hear the battle theme in my head now. Oh yeah! Cool EVA!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61293.86
ETH 2930.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.65