Making animated illustration for a song - Commissioned work

in #art6 years ago (edited)

Flowers by Reisha


It was just a few days ago I was contacted by Neil to draw an animated illustration for a song. He gave me a sound cloud link to the song by Reisha called Flowers along with very detailed instructions of what he had in mind for the illustration. The first time I heard the song, I was immediately captivated. It was sweet and sad like most love story, always sweet but sometimes sadness creeps in. Nonetheless, this is a very good bittersweet song and I am very honored to be able to illustrate for it.

Making of Flower girl


All I was asked to do was to draw a girl holding a flower and express the emotion of the song behind a pink background. I was very excited to create this girl and to make her move. The phrase " I used to believe in love" hint of a broken love and imagining it, I thought she must have a very expressionless face because she is at the moment, numb to feelings. Or at least trying to numb her feelings so she could feel less broken. I made some tears falling as she tries hard as she could but could not contain her sadness.

making-of-flower.gif

Credits to


🎵 Reisha
SoundCloud: http://bit.ly/2nLYQLt
She has a very beautiful voice and her songs are lovely!

🍀 Neil
United Shadow: https://goo.gl/BMnFiu
His channel is dedicated to promoting all kinds of chill/soul/folk/lofi music.


Permission was granted to use these on my blog.

What do you think of the song and art? I would love to hear your thoughts and thank you for reading!

Elliebong.png

DQmXf8zpyVEGxHjGow3mnB3KWeyPuLoWLpCBUyFzfpANW7Z.png

steem engine.png

Sort:  

YOU'RE AMAZING @elliebong!! Music video can certainly be made differently using animation =D
i think this kind of video made people focus on the music more too =) a little distraction compared to usual MVs

There are a lot of youtubers who uses artwork for their songs. It goes well with relaxing music for chilling or while doing some work. Like you said little distraction so people can focus on the music ;)

Amazing Ellie :3 I like it! the music, your animation! and I think you did it well with this girl :3 its so good!

Thank you so much @gabyluc! Really appreciate your comment. I would really like to improve my animation skill to do a bigger project next time so this is a good practice, subtle animation :D

Yes, and making an animation is difficult, so it's a great job what you did! :O I'll be waiting for that project :)

With a lot of practice, it's easier to do each time. ;D Thanks! I will try my best to do the project 😂 Hopefully it wont take too much time

Awww poor girl. Great drawing, gif, and the music you selected was perfect. Love it!

Thank you @thunderbirdcomic!! I didn't choose the song, it was given to me by Neil to draw an illustration for it. :D

great artwork!well done!

awww u.u the song really makes feel sad, and the girl u.u

T-T I hope she will be able to believe in love again one day

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60991.61
ETH 2921.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.56