Artistic Interactions in Cebu City

in #art6 years ago

What is that large group of people doing?

We were wandering around Cebu City on a “walking tour” of some historical monuments (more on those further on...) and we stopped for a cold drink of water and electrolytes in a big park. As we are about to leave we see this large group of about 30 local young people (probably age 15-35). They’re all standing around in a circle looking at something near the center, but from a distance we can’t quite tell what.

“I wanna go see what they’re doing,” Lindsey says, and I nod, also curious.

When we get close we see that they are drawing the face of a young girl seated on stairs in the center of their circle. And their drawings were amazing!

“Whoa, that’s so cool!” We stood and watched in awe for a few moments.

Just as we were going to head on our way, the group’s spokesperson came up to us.

“Hello ladies, we are a group of local artists, and we are currently seeking models! Would you like to be a model for us?”

He explained that we could both sit together and model for about 30 minutes and the practicing artists would draw us. Then afterward the artists would give us their drawings of us to keep.

YES!

I did not hesitate. This is the sort of experience that doesn’t come up every day, but the memory lasts forever.

After many giggles and some stretch breaks, Lindsey and I had posed/meditated while the group drew us!

1B3A3F4A-DA6D-4AE5-8B8C-D7E19558FC36.jpeg

Group photo with the Legion of Cebu Artists and their drawings of us

And their drawings were amazing! There were several total and all were really cool. Here are a couple I felt especially resonant with...

3026EB39-4ED2-409B-BE5B-DAD188788CFA.jpeg

130D76E1-C97E-4B13-BCCF-FAB1B87BFFF3.jpeg

Thank you to the League of Cebu Artists for making amazing art and for sharing this experience with us! :)

I am a big proponent of creating whatever feels right for you - especially letting our feelings out artistically in an effort to bring more peace to the world. This group is doing this and it’s so cool!

I feel inspired by people creating what they are called to create. I made this drawing shortly after meeting these artists.

7BD950CE-56E6-44B6-9FC9-502CCE8328EC.jpeg

If you’re reading this, you are also contributing to this vision of creating more peace in the world. By witnessing and/or creating content that is made with blessed intention, I believe we are spreading this throughout all consciousness.

915AAEF2-3F0E-4AD5-B0B4-5A13A3D85498.jpeg

I am enjoying witnessing the art here in the Philippines, including this mural and these sweater-wearing trees in Lapu-Lapu.

Thank you for being a spirited soul in this magnificent time & place!

I post my thoughts, feelings, paintings, poetry, and whatever else I feel like on steemit @em-blem :) follow me if you like!

Sort:  

Hi, there! I am @christianyocte, I am one of those people who did a portrait of you. I really hope you had fun with us and were very happy of the drawings you keep.

I am a new artist and live-portrait drawing is really not my turf. But, I am learning. I know I am. Also, I hope you had fun in your stay in Cebu and will pay another visit again sometime soon. 😍😍 See you around her in steemit because I followed you already 😍

Yay! I’m so glad you are making art! Thank you for finding me, I’m going to follow you too!

Hello @em-blem, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64093.86
ETH 3123.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94