Decenter the Composition

in #art5 years ago

Flowers are an interesting subject to play with colors because they trigger a feeling of joy even if you make a mistake in the composition. Flowers inspire a non-judgemental attitude.

The painting is the result of the surface's alterations. Choose a specific type of paper, which is as important as the ink.
This is a watercolor/ink process.

Before beginning the piece, think of the rhythm like music. At which pace is each stroke going to be done?

Choose fewer colors. Go from light to dark.
Observe the global geometrical composition. Look for diagonales, triangles, rectangles, squares, circles.
What is in front is large, what is further away is smaller.

Focus on the emptiness, the negative space of things.
Draw curves if you have a tendency to see/draw straight lines, and vice versa.

Decenter the composition (I usually fail at this one.)

Exagerate the scale and the light contrast.
Almost close your eyes to distinguish the light and shadows.
Think of variations, repetitions and patterns.
Draw fine details and/or thick vague strokes.

Add water, let it soak and sponge it up.
Don't close (all) shapes.
Don't finish the drawing.

Sort:  

iHola @enbyx! Es una acuarela muy linda, la forma que explicas el paso a paso, parece que es muy fácil, pero me imagino mucho tiempo de práctica, para hacer esa bella acuarela que estas compartiendo. Cuéntame ¿Cómo te sentiste con tu voto Curie? ¿Es tu primer voto Curie? muchos besos

Hi! What do you mean with the "Curie vote"?

¿Cuál fue la emoción que sentiste? Risas, sonrisas, aplausos, exclamación, mucha alegría, etc, un abrazo en la distancia.

Hi enbyx, I enjoyed very much while read your post on how you draw the flower. I could feel that you enjoy drawing and you draw from your heart. What amaze me was, you did not sketch, you just draw it freely and follow your heart. I first time heard that drawing by think of the rhythm like music. And i love the color and final drawing. Now i do believe art can help a person to release stress. Sometime art also used by physiologist as one of their session.
How long you have involved in art? From the post, it seems art is in you. I love it very much.

Hi @oliviackl. You are right, it comes from the heart. The drawing (made on a thick rough A4 paper) is a gift for my partner's mother. I was very shy, because i always doubt my work.

Drawing without preparation is an interesting approach to loose the intention of coloring fixed shapes as in a "coloring book". Color is about texture, layer, interdependence. It's fun to speak of interdependence for colors :) i love to play with language.

Yes, imagine drawing like music! A "still" image is an illusion. Movement is usually related to the idea of life. I observed that i am touched by a visual when it seems "alive". The challenge to produce a still image is to reflect on the "movement" and "time" aspects in the process. Experimenting with the stroke's rhythm can be a technique to do that.

Art has always been a part of my life. Before language. It is my shelter, where i retreat from the world. And at the same time, my way to connect with the clamour of the world.

@enbyx, you have talent with art, and please feel proud of it. Do not feel shy. I love the way you explained on art. First time I heard someone treat art like it is alive. You feel it, touch it, follow their rhythm, follow your heart and draw it freely. The basic of all these enable you draw a beautiful art. From the way you explained, you really love arts and treat it like your best friend.

Are you from an art family?

Haha i never saw it this way: art is my best friend! It is my chosen family :)

I just followed you and upvoted your post.

Haha yaa art really is your chosen family. Thank you for the upvote.Now is my turn to feel shy 😅 My colouring totally cannot compare with your art 😝

Posted using Partiko Android

The gradation and the story behind your Ouroboros Dream Trap are vibrant!

Thank you for the compliment @enbyx. This was an encouragement to me.. Received a compliment from an artist is an honor and boost up my confidence level

Posted using Partiko Android

Oohhh my! Its a lovely artwork!

One of the things I love doing is playing youtube and watching artworks being done from scratch especially coloring videos. Its amazing!!

I can draw and sketch a bit. But I dont have the talent for blending colors using watercolors or ink process. I have tried it and its not for me.. hahahahaha..

I dont have the colorful thumb to do it. I cannot do beautiful strokes. My hands are rather stiff! Hahahaha.. or sometimes I choose the wrong color combination.. it takes a whole lot of processing to take in. You have to look at the bigger picture and not just centering on one angle. That i dont have! 😂

And I agree, painting is just like music, you gotta have some rhythm and beat. You have to hear the sound of... tugs tugs tugs tugs... hehehe..

Thank you for sharing with us how it should be done. I had fun reading it through.

Cheers!

Posted using Partiko Android

Your humour is delightful! Thx.

Witnessing something done from scratch makes me feel lucky. It feels like a new beginning. I also enjoy a process that goes from very simple to super complex, and back to simple.

The process you mention "whole lot of processing to take in" is maybe the abstraction process. Only relevant input are selected and then transformed onto the paper. The method you describe seems exact. But maybe "the bigger picture" that you choose is to big. The decision making starts with the conceptual and concrete frame. Extract only a very small number of data. Ignore deliberately what could seem essential.

I wish you would not stop because of the "non-beautiful strokes" and the "wrong color combination". The practice of failures creates a unique style. I am personally more attracted to that.

Just use a " colorful thumb" prosthesis

source

Cheers :D

I think anything made out from scratch is one happy pill too. It gives a sense of contentment somehow.

Yes its difficult really to conceptualize because of so many things in mind. I get a little confused as to which one is better.

Thanks for the encouragement, its truly appreciated especially coming from great artists such as you.. I will keep on practicing my drawing skills. And give watercoloring another try too. 😍

Posted using Partiko Android

I would be happy if you share with me your next drawing or painting 🌸

Hmmmmm.. i wish i could have the time.. i do have some adult coloring book here that has been sitting idle. Ill post something in the future..

Thanks!

Posted using Partiko Android


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Thank you so much for the support!!!

Hi enbyx,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiesteem.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

Thx for the support :D

Congratulations @enbyx! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 50 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 100 upvotes.
You received more than 100 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 250 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Saint Nicholas challenge for good boys and girls

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Very un-stressing to watch, thanks for sharing!

Yes watercolor is a soft approach, it releases tensions

Congratulations @enbyx! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got your First payout
You published more than 10 posts. Your next target is to reach 20 posts.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Saint Nicholas challenge for good boys and girls

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @enbyx! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 500 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 1000 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Saint Nicholas challenge for good boys and girls

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

I love your explanation of making process. I can see that you are really enjoying this. Lovely composition. And so detailed. Good work. Also, I wish you a nice time here on Steemit. I hope you will have a lot of success.

That's very sweet 💎
The feeling of joy is related to the idea that watercolor is an unexpected weapon against adversity.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.13
JST 0.031
BTC 61372.29
ETH 2888.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.62