Drawing BTS Rap Monster Timelapse | Colored Pencils

in #art6 years ago

I haven't been drawing for a long time now, except for a quick sketch I did last Sunday that I wasn't really proud of. It's a long weekend for me -- there's no work until after the 15th because of the ASEAN Summit 2017 -- so I got up from my cozy bed, took out my new sketchpad (it's wonderful!) and finally dusted off my gears.

Who is Rap Monster?

I'm glad you asked. 😂

Kim Namjoon A.K.A. Rap Monster is South Korean boy group BTS' leader. As his screen name suggests, he is an amazing rapper (his voice is crazy husky when he raps). Not only that, he writes and produces songs, too. In their latest comeback hit song called 'DNA', he was extra cute and badass, so I decided to draw him.

You can watch their comeback song 'DNA' below.

The Drawing


As I'm finishing up the drawing, I had to show the above picture to an ARMY (BTS fan) to confirm if the drawing even remotely looks like Rap Monster. It did.

This is seriously the first time I ever tried to record my drawing process. It was kinda hard.

To be honest, I struggled with the whole timelapse thing. The camera was getting in the way as I draw, and I was getting unsure if I'm doing the drawing right because of my posture. Yeah, I'm a noob. 

Finally, you can watch the drawing process below.

As usual, I start the drawing with a quick sketch of Rap Monster. I used a 2H pencil on this one. 

Coloring with Petroleum Jelly

A few months ago I was experimenting with colored pencils, and found that petroleum jelly actually works well when coloring. You can see my colored pencils + petroleum jelly adventures in two of my past posts (Drawing Kaya Scodelario and Drawing a Birthday Gift).

As usual, I struggled with the hair. I don't think this Achilles heel is ever going away LOL. 


Some of my drawings with colored pencils and petroleum jelly.

The Experience of Recording My Drawing Process

...made me feel ecstatic. I noticed my habits -- like flexing my hands every once in a while, or staring at the drawing (or what's of it at the moment) for a very long time before working again -- and my obvious impatience (i.e. I don't work on one area at a time), hence, I'm all over the place.

I like it. I might do it again. Hopefully soon. 😉 This time, with better lighting and less shaking LOL.

Thank you for dropping by!

Sort:  

Great sketch. I like seeing the process and I had not heard of the rap artist before.

Thank you so much @donnadavisart! :D

very nice portrait! upvote and follow you!
feel free to visit my blog with my art and photos!

Congratulations @erangvee, this post is the sixth most rewarded post (based on pending payouts) in the last 12 hours written by a User account holder (accounts that hold between 0.1 and 1.0 Mega Vests). The total number of posts by User account holders during this period was 2005 and the total pending payments to posts in this category was $1680.67. To see the full list of highest paid posts across all accounts categories, click here.

If you do not wish to receive these messages in future, please reply stop to this comment.

Awesome! Thank you, @bitgeek!

great work @erangvee ! Im an artist & new member of the steemit family DO VISIT MY BLOG AND APPRECIATE MY WORK

I will, thank you. Welcome to Steemit!

niceeeee
check out @shanehobie art, she draws kpop too!

Waaaa idooolll. 💕 (Stalker ng art mo po huhu) Haha. Thanks! Will check her out. 😉

Blackjack akoooo eh but i love kpop. Hope mging friends din kayoooo.
Patuloy tayo sa art journey 😘💮🐣🌱

I don't know if I should be happy not being addicted to Kpop! lols.

HAHAAHAH. You shouldn't, because you're missing out on a lot~

Galing talaga. :)

Salamat powssss. 😉😉😉

Wow! Impressive😊👏 looks like I'll revisit my sketching because of this ~ some day soon.

Thank you po! :D

Aira!!! Ang ganda! Huhu.

Awww thank you Kuya Nathan!! <3

Congratulations @erangvee! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64455.55
ETH 3147.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94