You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: ✏️ Learning to draw like the Masters - working with "my" Kids on a Bargue Plate

in #art6 years ago

That's a very important work you're doing. I think you give a lot to the children on their way, even if they don't become artists later. The love of free expression and the knowledge you teach them will have a lasting impact on them. You can be very sure of that.

All adults who show an interest in children's lives and have patience and enthusiasm for them make a difference. I remember my own art teacher at school. He was one of the Birkenstock era and taught us a lot. I learned batiks and linoleum cuts and much more from him. We sold our finished works at the school bazaar and I remember how proud I was that a batik Pierot (my favourite motif at that time) sold for twenty marks.

... But I have a sensitive question: If you feel sorry for the children and their circumstances or find that they work too much at home or on the farm, can it happen that you convey their parents' lifestyle as inferior? ... My question is about their identity. When children who are already doing adult work feel that this is being condemned, they begin to reject their parents. But since every child wants to feel that their parents' home is right, it is important that what they have to do there is appreciated from adults outside their homes. Even if this does not fit into the concept of life of a modern community.

I feel strongly reminded of my parents, who were self-sufficient throughout their lives and thought as much about art as perhaps a forest goblin of figure skating. ... Though my mother always decorated all her letters with flowers she painted herself and was probably not aware that she was artistically inclined.

The rejection of the parental home from the environment (teacher, educator) transports itself from the children into the parental home. The parents feel that the children bring this influence as negative and tragically this often leads to the parents refusing their permission to let the child participate in something else that they do not know and where they feel stupid and uneducated.

Which is not to say that a nine-year-old should have so much responsibility. But as far as the circumstances cannot be changed, one could ask the girl what she is most proud of in terms of family duties and perhaps express this in a work of art?

I hope you forgive me this somewhat critical attitude. I know you're working from your heart.

<3

Sort:  

Sorry for my late reply, was on the road for two days... quick trip to Zetel, to deliver the artworks for a complete show (Magical Dreams IV) travelling through Germany and Poland. I know, I know... pretty close to Hamburg. I waved!! But we were really under pressure to make it back and forth in that time.

As for your..ahm.. sensitive Question.. (making serious face).. not to worry. I generally don't look at other people or their lifestyle as inferior. I come from humble backgrounds and am a very small fish myself. If I despise any lifestyle at all, its people who have everything except brains and manners.

With my kids its actually more of the opposite. I always try to inspire them to see the good in their lives. The relationships with their parents are often difficult enough. Most of them live in structures you can hardly call family. They are sent from one parent to the other, grandpa, aunt... I'm sure you've heard it all too. Thing is, I have seen some of these parents all of a sudden become proud of their daughter or son with things we accomplish. When we are part of a bigger art project and create public attention. You can see, how they are amazed, that their child is no longer one of "the stupid ones", but special, with an outstanding ability...

I could write a novel about this, but bottom line is that I try to make them feel comfortable with who they are and where they come from. And then see their potential and discover new options. More than once I had a parent approach me and ask... do you think my son/daughter could do that too? So you see, you really need to start there.. make these people have confidence in their kids!!

The family with the farm are a difficult case. Of course, they got no sense for art, because nobody showed them. On the other hand, the girl and her sister had to see a psychologist, because they never laugh or even smile.. ok, the one does now in my class 🤩 I never would say anything like.. your parents are bad, because.. bla bla... If anything I'd say, "do you think we can find a way" or "do you think we could talk to your parents.." So, its supposed to be a "miteinander" (together). Not so easy, when some of the other kids look at their relatives as bums and drunks. I try to explain to my kids, that these people where children too with wishes and dreams, but never had a chance or nobody showed them how to make better decisions... Thing is, if you respect people and give them their dignity, that goes a long way. I understand, that you won't turn a life of drug and alcohol abuse around like that... but when they are young, I think it helps, to show them alternatives. Even there you can apply what Buckminster Fuller said: you don't bring a bad system (or situation) down by force or by fighting it. You have to create a new system, that makes the existing one obsolete!

The situation of the girl who had to do the household duties as a nine year old went from bad to worse. I don't want to get into all the details, but it tears my heart out to see how messed up she is at 14. Of course I don't show it and treat her like any other "normal" teenager, even a bit... how should I say... provocative? You know, I act like I'm not tolerating her behavior and such, although secretly I am. I'm worried sick, that in two three years she falls for some abusive older guy or starts doing drugs and stuff... and that is why I find it so important, that someone speaking their language shows them a way...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63878.79
ETH 3133.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85