A self portrait in prisma color pencils.

in #art6 years ago (edited)

E324FB18-7655-4626-BA43-3148199E62FA.jpeg

This drawing was just a form of value study it took me about an hour to create. I started by taking a reference photo of myself.

D53CD800-5999-492D-8D75-2A647CF975BA.jpeg

I then began to do a sketch in pencil.

27080769-49DF-4186-A520-2D945823CBFF.jpeg
After I get somewhat of an idea of the proportions and such I lighten the pencil marks by gently erasing them. Then I begin to add the color working from light to dark.

C28B2ECE-3F37-48AB-A2C2-C013C29A7125.jpeg

C710CF18-DB97-46AC-AA81-7333FCFC0D69.jpeg

78AB05E4-0E84-4C58-ACF4-23FA1B6B6C69.jpeg

819FA98C-561E-486E-A614-2EA479F069F5.jpeg

6CB6D140-C9CB-461B-9784-5CA71603E637.jpeg

749628A2-ABD5-497E-9CFB-E9A8CA20FF0B.jpeg

And there you have it!
A quick study of value using prisma color pencils on mixed media paper.
I hope you all enjoyed the process!
One Love!

  • Eddie Martinez

E T E R N O

SOCIAL MEDIA:

https://www.instagram.com/eterno_333/

https://www.facebook.com/eddietheartist

https://twitter.com/eterno_333

Sort:  

@eterno You're a great artist. Your self-portrait in prism colored pencils was very original and its aesthetics and concept is really beautiful including every detail. Your self-portrait is charming and the colors you chose are excellent. It's great to enjoy the whole process step by step and how it achieves and incorporates colors. Of course we enjoyed the whole process you showed us. A lot of love for you too and many successes in your career as an artist. A big hug.

Thank you very much I appreciate that. Im very glad that you have enjoyed my post :)


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

Hi eterno,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiesteem.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

It is very much appreciated! Thank you!

Nicely done, what a nice self portrait painting :). You captured the light and colour of your skin, that must be quite difficult to do with prisma colours.  
                       
Good job and congratulation for getting a curie vote :).      
                       

Thank you!

Wow for a bit I thought the artwork was a picture too .. you did such a great job on the colouring and highlighting.. it looks just like the picture

Thank you very much!

Oh boy!
What a draw Eddie!
You're an amazing artist!
What are your other artwork aside from drawing in prisma color pencils?

Thank you very much! If you go to my instagram link on my post you can see tons of my other work. :)

Oh thank you!
I'll check it out. After 10 minutes, I already checked some of your posts of over 900 posts you made. That's too many!
They're pretty nice and fascinating!

When was your first post on Instagram?

Your post was upvoted by the @art-venture account after manual review and included in Art-Venture magazine. The upvote and support of Art-venture magazine would greatly appreciated!
8ix7d6nx3h.jpg

Thank you very much! Just gave you all a follow!

Good use of the prism colors, the skin tone that you managed to achieve was spectacular .. making portraits is very complicated and with colors, even more. I will follow you to be aware of your next drawings, I also draw and I like to support other artists even though my voting power is not much .. !! A hug @eterno

No worries your upvote and reply is very much appreciated thank you!

I rearly see such vivid colors drawn with pencils... The play between red and black is staggering. I do most of my drawings with oil pastel. But your drawing makes me rethink prisma color pencils...

Thats one of the reasons I love prisma pensils, they have such an oil type feel to them and the way I am able to blend each color together. I really recommend you give them a try!

Thanks. How many colors are in your set?

howdy from Texas sir eterno! yes I thought this was a photo at first glance because it is so accurate! And to think you were able to do it in just an hour is remarkable! do you do portraits of other people also?

Hello, and thank you! I do many different portraits but am currently not taking any commissions since I want to focus on my own creations.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64455.55
ETH 3147.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94