A Collage Inspired by a Chaotic World

in #art6 years ago

IMG_20171129_220506_755.jpg

Here is a collage I made last night. Around my birthday (December 15th), I always become much more creative, intuitive, and ponder my own mortality much more than usual. I think that might be because two of my close family members have passed around this time, years ago... including my grandfather on my 4th birthday.

While I was making this piece, I actually felt inspired by death and the acceptance of the possibility of nuclear war. I know that sounds dark, but the acceptance of the idea of our own instant collective transformation felt almost comforting. Morbid, but inspiring in a poetic sense, and helps me fear death less.

Sort:  

@eve-hofmeister, I've found your post to be worthy of a resteem and upvote from me. I'm an actual person and I am doing this on behalf of the Resteem - Upvote movement. Join the movement, read about it here: https://steemit.com/steemit/@jackmiller/a-call-to-arms-beat-the-bots-the-movement

I always get melancholy around my birthday, which is close to yours.

Sorry to hear about the passings of family members around those dates. I guess people's health tends to become more susceptible in winter time, which would give scientific grounds to your experience.

On a more positive note, quite a good collage. It reminds me of work by @georgeboya whom I haven't seen here for a long time.

Thank you very much! I feel that I've struggled with that melancholy or slightly depressed feeling for a while, and only the last couple of years have I found more acceptance of that kind of "darkness" and being kind of inspired by it.

I appreciate your condolences.

I will also check him out :)

Hi there Eve! I love this piece. It's so beautiful! May I ask what medium it is? Are those inks/markers or paint?

Thank you! Medium is Collage and ink :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 70434.55
ETH 3761.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84