My Return to Painting (a preview)

in #art2 years ago

I stopped painting for seven years. Not completely sure why.

This doesn't mean that I've slowed down as an artist: making animated videos, music, NFTs, writing, and even doing the occasional sketch. I've kept busy.

But no painting. I think one reason was logistics. Another was aesthetics - my studio was looking less like a studio and more like a storage space. And the easel in the corner kept mocking me so eventually I took it down.

Anyways this all changed this fall when I decided to make my way outside again and start painting. And I've got a lot of work to show for it so far, which I will be posting here very soon. But first I wanted to share with you some old unfinished work that I've unearthed recently, as a way of anticipation for the newer work to come.

Beautiful Librarian

Done in pencil on 16 x 20" flat board canvas, with some oil wash, but I think I will finish it in acrylic.
Recently added the cat and the mouse, barely visible.


BOOKSTORE SERIES

Series of paintings as panel sequences. The second painting is intended to read bottom up.

These paintings go back as far as 1999. I'm definitely going to finish the librarian, and as far as the bookstore series, I plan to incorporate that into a larger piece. If you want to find out more check in at my new website. Thanks for your attention and have a wonderful day!

Writing and images by Greg McCann, the author of this post and owner of this Steemit Channel. To view more of my work, please visit www.fireawaymarmot.com.

banner.gif

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 61136.19
ETH 2969.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.64